14 Facts About Micronesia


Political control of areas within Micronesia varies depending on the island, and is distributed among six sovereign nations.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,591

The Carolines consist of two republics: the Federated States of Micronesia, consisting of approximately 600 islands on the eastern side of the chain with Kosrae being the most eastern; and Palau consisting of 250 islands on the western side.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,592

Nauru became an Australian mandate, while Germany's other territories in Micronesia were given as a mandate to Japan and were named the South Seas Mandate.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,593

Today, most of Micronesia are independent states, except for the U S Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam and Wake Island, which are U S territories.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,594

The US-administered areas of Micronesia have a unique experience that sets them apart from the rest of the Pacific.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,595

Micronesia has great economic dependency on its former or current motherlands, something only comparable to the French Pacific.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,596

Sometimes, the term American Micronesia is used to acknowledge the difference in cultural heritage.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,597

Japanese rule in Micronesia led to Japanese people settling the islands and marrying native spouses.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,598

Kessai Note, the former president of the Marshall Islands has partial Japanese ancestry by way of his paternal grandfather, and Emanuel Mori, the former president of the Federated States of Micronesia, is descended from one of the first settlers from Japan, Koben Mori.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,599

Finally, there are two Malayo-Polynesian languages spoken in Micronesia that do not belong to the Oceanic languages: Chamorro in the Mariana Islands and Palauan in Palau.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,600

Western Micronesia was unaware of the ceremonial drink, which was called saka on Kosrae and sakau on Pohnpei.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,601

Educational systems in the nations of Micronesia vary depending on the country and there are several higher-level educational institutions.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,602

The College of Micronesia-FSM has a campus in each of the four states with its national campus in the capital city of Palikir, Pohnpei.

FactSnippet No. 1,318,603

However, it explains that "law in Micronesia is an extraordinary flux and flow of contrasting thought and meaning, inside and outside the legal system".

FactSnippet No. 1,318,604