36 Facts About Nauru


Nauru gained its independence in 1968, and became a member of the Pacific Community in 1969.

FactSnippet No. 619,922

Nauru is a phosphate-rock island with rich deposits near the surface, which allowed easy strip mining operations for over a century, though at the cost of seriously harming the island's environment.

FactSnippet No. 619,923

Nauru was first settled by Micronesians at least 3, 000 years ago, and there is evidence of possible Polynesian influence.

FactSnippet No. 619,924

In 1798, the British sea captain John Fearn, on his trading ship Hunter, became the first Westerner to report sighting Nauru, calling it "Pleasant Island", because of its attractive appearance.

FactSnippet No. 619,925

Nauru was finally liberated on 13 September 1945, when commander Hisayaki Soeda surrendered the island to the Australian Army and the Royal Australian Navy.

FactSnippet No. 619,926

Nauru rejected the proposal to move to Curtis Island, instead choosing to become an independent nation operating their mines in Nauru.

FactSnippet No. 619,927

Nauru became self-governing in January 1966, and following a two-year constitutional convention, it became independent on 31 January 1968 under founding president Hammer DeRoburt.

FactSnippet No. 619,928

In 1967, the people of Nauru purchased the assets of the British Phosphate Commissioners, and in June 1970 control passed to the locally owned Nauru Phosphate Corporation.

FactSnippet No. 619,929

In 1989, Nauru took legal action against Australia in the International Court of Justice over Australia's administration of the island, in particular, Australia's failure to remedy the environmental damage caused by phosphate mining.

FactSnippet No. 619,930

Only fertile areas on Nauru are on the narrow coastal belt, where coconut palms flourish.

FactSnippet No. 619,931

Nauru was one of three great phosphate rock islands in the Pacific Ocean, along with Banaba, in Kiribati, and Makatea, in French Polynesia.

FactSnippet No. 619,932

Nauru's climate is hot and very humid year-round because of its proximity to the equator and the ocean.

FactSnippet No. 619,933

President of Nauru is Russ Kun, who heads a 19-member unicameral parliament.

FactSnippet No. 619,934

Recently Nauru became a member country of the International Renewable Energy Agency.

FactSnippet No. 619,935

The Republic of Nauru became the 189th member of the International Monetary Fund in April 2016.

FactSnippet No. 619,936

Nauru is a republic with a parliamentary system of government.

FactSnippet No. 619,937

From 1992 to 1999, Nauru had a local government system known as the Nauru Island Council.

FactSnippet No. 619,938

Nauru is a member of the South Pacific Regional Environment Programme, the Pacific Community, and the South Pacific Applied Geoscience Commission.

FactSnippet No. 619,939

In February 2021, Nauru announced it would be formally withdrawing from the Pacific Islands Forum in a joint statement with Marshall Islands, Kiribati, and the Federated States of Micronesia after a dispute regarding Henry Puna's election as the Forum's secretary-general.

FactSnippet No. 619,940

Nauru has no armed forces, though there is a small police force under civilian control.

FactSnippet No. 619,941

The September 2005 memorandum of understanding between Australia and Nauru provides the latter with financial aid and technical assistance, including a Secretary of Finance to prepare the budget, and advisers on health and education.

FactSnippet No. 619,942

Nauru has used its position as a member of the United Nations to gain financial support from both Taiwan and mainland China (officially the People's Republic of China or PRC) by changing its recognition from one to the other under the One-China policy.

FactSnippet No. 619,943

Nauru later re-established links with the ROC on 14 May 2005, and diplomatic ties with the PRC were officially severed on 31 May 2005.

FactSnippet No. 619,944

In 2008, Nauru recognised Kosovo as an independent country, and in 2009 Nauru became the fourth country, after Russia, Nicaragua, and Venezuela, to recognise Abkhazia, a breakaway region of Georgia.

FactSnippet No. 619,945

The Nauru government claimed this aid is not related to its recognising Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

FactSnippet No. 619,946

The refugees were eventually loaded onto Royal Australian Navy vessel HMAS Manoora and taken to Nauru to be held in detention facilities which later became part of the Howard government's Pacific Solution.

FactSnippet No. 619,947

Nauru operated two detention centres known as State House and Topside for these refugees in exchange for Australian aid.

FactSnippet No. 619,948

Nauru is divided into fourteen administrative districts, which are grouped into eight electoral constituencies and are further divided into villages.

FactSnippet No. 619,949

Nauru currently lacks money to perform many of the basic functions of government; for example, the National Bank of Nauru is insolvent.

FactSnippet No. 619,950

Under pressure from FATF, Nauru introduced anti-avoidance legislation in 2003, after which foreign hot money left the country.

FactSnippet No. 619,951

Previously Nauru had been listed alongside fourteen other countries that had failed to show that they could comply with international tax transparency standards and regulations.

FactSnippet No. 619,952

In 2018 the Nauru government partnered with the deep sea mining company DeepGreen, planning to harvest manganese nodules whose minerals and metals can be used in the development of sustainable energy technology.

FactSnippet No. 619,953

Nauru is one of the most densely populated Westernized countries in the South Pacific.

FactSnippet No. 619,954

Nauru participates in the Commonwealth Games and has participated in the Summer Olympic Games in weightlifting and judo.

FactSnippet No. 619,955

Nauru competed in the 2015 Oceania Sevens Championship in New Zealand.

FactSnippet No. 619,956

Nauru has the world's highest level of type 2 diabetes, with more than 40 per cent of the population affected.

FactSnippet No. 619,957