29 Facts About Nebraska


Nebraska's area is just over 77, 220 square miles with a population of over 1.

FactSnippet No. 447,913

Nebraska was admitted into the United States in 1867, two years after the end of the American Civil War.

FactSnippet No. 447,914

The Nebraska Legislature is unlike any other American legislature in that it is unicameral, and its members are elected without any official reference to political party affiliation.

FactSnippet No. 447,915

Nebraska is composed of two major land regions: the Dissected Till Plains and the Great Plains.

FactSnippet No. 447,916

Nebraska's name is the result of anglicization of the archaic Otoe words Ni Brasge, pronounced, or the Omaha Ni Bthaska, pronounced, meaning "flat water", after the Platte River which flows through the state.

FactSnippet No. 447,917

On May 30, 1854, the US Congress created the Kansas and the Nebraska territories, divided by the Parallel 40° North, under the Kansas–Nebraska Act.

FactSnippet No. 447,918

The Nebraska Territory included parts of the current states of Colorado, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, and Montana.

FactSnippet No. 447,919

Nebraska became the 37th state on March 1, 1867, and the capital was moved from Omaha to the center at Lancaster, later renamed Lincoln after the recently assassinated President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln.

FactSnippet No. 447,920

Nebraska is composed of two major land regions: the Dissected Till Plains and the Great Plains.

FactSnippet No. 447,921

Locations given for the beginning of the "West" in Nebraska include the Missouri River, the intersection of 13th and O Streets in Lincoln, the 100th meridian, and Chimney Rock.

FactSnippet No. 447,922

Nebraska has the largest Czech American and non-Mormon Danish American population in the nation.

FactSnippet No. 447,923

Religious affiliations of the people of Nebraska are predominantly Christian, according to a 2014 survey by the Pew Research Center.

FactSnippet No. 447,924

All real property within the state of Nebraska is taxable unless specifically exempted by statute.

FactSnippet No. 447,925

Nebraska has a large agriculture sector, and is a major producer of beef, pork, wheat, corn, soybeans, and sorghum.

FactSnippet No. 447,926

Nebraska adapted his pamphlets from the Canadian publications, Coles Notes.

FactSnippet No. 447,927

Nebraska has been the nation's second-largest producer of ethanol biofuels.

FactSnippet No. 447,928

Nebraska is the only state in the US where all electric utilities are publicly owned.

FactSnippet No. 447,929

Nebraska has no renewable portfolio standard while supporting net metering.

FactSnippet No. 447,930

Government of Nebraska operates under the framework of the Nebraska Constitution, adopted in 1875, and is divided into three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial.

FactSnippet No. 447,931

Nebraska is the only state in the United States with a 'single-house' unicameral legislature.

FactSnippet No. 447,932

Nebraska's Legislature is the only state legislature in the United States that is officially nonpartisan.

FactSnippet No. 447,933

When Nebraska became a state in 1867, its legislature consisted of two houses: a House of Representatives and a Senate.

FactSnippet No. 447,934

In 1934, due in part to the budgetary pressure of the Great Depression, Nebraska citizens ran a state initiative to vote on a constitutional amendment creating a unicameral legislature, which was approved, which, in effect, abolished the House of Representatives.

FactSnippet No. 447,935

Judicial system in Nebraska is unified, with the Nebraska Supreme Court having administrative authority over all the courts within the state.

FactSnippet No. 447,936

Nebraska uses the Missouri Plan for the selection of judges at all levels, including county courts and twelve district courts, which contain one or more counties.

FactSnippet No. 447,937

Nebraska has three representative seats in the U S House of Representatives.

FactSnippet No. 447,938

Until the next election, Nebraska's representatives are Mike Flood of the 1st district, Don Bacon of the 2nd district, and Adrian Smith of the 3rd district.

FactSnippet No. 447,939

Nebraska is one of two states that allow for a split in the state's allocation of electoral votes in presidential elections.

FactSnippet No. 447,940

Nebraska is currently home to seven member schools of the NCAA, eight of the NAIA, seven of the NJCAA, one of the NCCAA, and one independent school.

FactSnippet No. 447,941