11 Facts About Nottinghamshire


Districts of Nottinghamshire are Ashfield, Bassetlaw, Broxtowe, Gedling, Mansfield, Newark and Sherwood, and Rushcliffe.

FactSnippet No. 956,241

The City of Nottingham was administratively part of Nottinghamshire between 1974 and 1998, but is a unitary authority, remaining part of Nottinghamshire for ceremonial purposes.

FactSnippet No. 956,242

Nottinghamshire is famous for its involvement with the legend of Robin Hood.

FactSnippet No. 956,243

Nottinghamshire was mapped first by Christopher Saxton in 1576; the first fully surveyed map of the county was by John Chapman, who produced Chapman's Map of Nottinghamshire in 1774.

FactSnippet No. 956,244

Nottinghamshire is sheltered by the Pennines to the west, so receives relatively low rainfall at 641 to 740 millimetres annually.

FactSnippet No. 956,245

Nottinghamshire contains one green belt area, first drawn up from the 1950s.

FactSnippet No. 956,246

Nottinghamshire is a non-metropolitan county, governed by Nottinghamshire County Council and seven non-metropolitan district councils.

FactSnippet No. 956,247

Nottinghamshire is home to the Sherwood Forest, known for its association with the legend of Robin Hood.

FactSnippet No. 956,248

Nottinghamshire contains the ancestral home of the poet Lord Byron, Newstead Abbey, which he sold in 1818.

FactSnippet No. 956,249

The most successful football team within Nottinghamshire is Nottingham Forest, a Premier League club that won the 1978 English championship, and followed it up with winning the 1979 and 1980 European Cup titles.

FactSnippet No. 956,250

Nottinghamshire has international twinning arrangements with the province of Wielkopolska in western Poland, and with the province's capital city, Poznan.

FactSnippet No. 956,251