11 Facts About Ryder Cup

1. Ryder Cup was played outside of the British Isles for the first time in 1997, as Valderrama Golf Club in Spain hosted the contest.

2. Advent of the Second World War meant the Ryder Cup was not contested again until 1947 at Portland Golf Club.

3. Ryder Cup is contested in a match play format, which involves different methods of the format.

4. Ryder Cup is a golf competition contested by teams from Europe and the United States.

5. Ryder Cup matches were always covered by the BBC, whether in Britain or in the United States, even prior to the British team's merger with Europe.

6. Bidding process for the 2022 Ryder Cup opened on 23 June 2014.

7. Ryder Cup was not played in these scheduled years due to the war; by the fall of 1945, many members of the British team were still in the military.

8. Format of the Ryder Cup has changed over the years.

9. Ryder Cup involves various match play competitions between players selected from two teams of twelve.

10. The Ryder Cup is named after the English businessman Samuel Ryder who donated the trophy.

11. Ryder Cup is a biennial men's golf competition between teams from Europe and the United States.