14 Facts About South China Sea


South China Sea is a marginal sea of the Western Pacific Ocean.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,317

South China Sea is a region of tremendous economic and geostrategic importance.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,318

South China Sea is the dominant term used in English for the sea, and the name in most European languages is equivalent.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,319

Nan Hai, the South Sea, was one of the Four Seas of Chinese literature.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,320

Major rivers that flow into the South China Sea include the Pearl, Min, Jiulong, Red, Mekong, Menam, Rajang, Baram, Kapuas, Batang Hari, Musi, Kampar, Indragiri, Pahang, Agno, Pampanga and Pasig Rivers.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,321

South China Sea opened around 45 million years ago when the "Dangerous Ground" rifted away from southern China.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,322

Since opening the South China Sea has been the repository of large sediment volumes delivered by the Mekong River, Red River and Pearl River.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,323

South China Sea contains over 250 small islands, atolls, cays, shoals, reefs, and sandbars, most of which have no indigenous people, many of which are naturally under water at high tide, and some of which are permanently submerged.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,324

South China Sea is an extremely significant body of water in a geopolitical sense.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,325

In 2014 South China Sea began to drill for oil in waters disputed with Vietnam.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,326

Generally, China has preferred to resolve competing claims bilaterally, while some ASEAN countries prefer multilateral talks, believing that they are disadvantaged in bilateral negotiations with the much larger China and that because many countries claim the same territory only multilateral talks could effectively resolve the competing claims.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,327

South China Sea responded by demanding the US keep out of the issue.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,328

In May 2014, South China Sea established an oil rig near the Paracel Islands, leading to multiple incidents between Vietnamese and Chinese ships.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,329

In December 2018, retired Chinese admiral Luo Yuan proposed that a possible solution to tensions with the United States in the South China Sea would be to sink one or two United States Navy aircraft carriers to break US morale.

FactSnippet No. 1,884,330