32 Facts About Team Sky


Team Sky launched in 2010 with the ambition of winning the Tour de France with a British rider within five years, a goal achieved in two years when Bradley Wiggins won the 2012 Tour de France, becoming the first British winner in its history, while teammate and fellow Briton Chris Froome finished as the runner up and then went on to win the 2013 Tour de France.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,750

Team Sky was searching for a sport in which they could have a positive and wide-ranging impact through their sponsorship.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,751

Team Sky gained a victory in its first race in January 2010, the Cancer Council Helpline Classic in Adelaide, Australia, a one-day race prior to the Tour Down Under, with Greg Henderson and Chris Sutton taking first and second respectively.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,752

Team Sky was invited to compete in the other two of the year's Grand Tours.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,753

In total Team Sky recorded 22 wins in their debut season, with a further 50 podiums.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,754

Team Sky again began the season in Australia, with Ben Swift winning two stages of the Tour Down Under, and finishing third overall.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,755

Team Sky finished second on the stage 21 on the Champs-Elysees.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,756

Team Sky was joined by his HTC–Highroad teammate Bernhard Eisel.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,757

In January, Team Sky confirmed their squad for the 2012 season which included eight new signings, Cavendish, Eisel, Sergio Henao, Danny Pate, Richie Porte, Salvatore Puccio, Luke Rowe and Kanstantsin Sivtsov.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,758

Team Sky dominated the Tour de France general classification with Wiggins first and Froome second overall, and Cavendish winning three stages including the sprint on the final stage on the Champs-Elysees in Paris.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,759

Team Sky finished third overall, winning the final day time trial by eight seconds from Sylvain Chavanel.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,760

Team Sky entered the 2015 Giro d'Italia with Porte as team leader with the aim of winning the general classification.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,761

Team Sky went into the 2015 Tour de France with their "strongest team ever" After a strong performance on the Mur de Huy Froome took over the race lead, and general classification by one second over Tony Martin.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,762

Team Sky entered the spring classics campaign with the perennial aim of claiming their first monument race.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,763

Team Sky finally achieved their coveted monument win, but it wasn't Kwiatkowski, but rather, domestique Wout Poels who emerged victorious on a day with poor weather conditions and enduring snow.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,764

Team Sky went into the 2016 Tour de France with what was without question an even stronger squad than the previous year.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,765

Team Sky then got the victory on stage 11 at Pena Cabarga, the very same mountain where he got his first-ever Grand Tour stage win in 2011, and put himself into second overall just under a minute behind race leader Nairo Quintana.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,766

Team Sky gained most of that time back on the stage 19 time trial to Calp with a dominant performance, but was unable to make up the difference in the penultimate stage, finishing second overall in the end by just 1:23 behind Quintana.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,767

Team Sky finished the 2016 season 3rd overall in the UCI World Tour team rankings, with Froome as its highest-ranked rider, finishing 3rd overall in the individual rider ranking.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,768

Team Sky won Paris–Nice for the fifth time in sixth years courtesy of Sergio Henao, who won the race overall by just two seconds over Alberto Contador.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,769

Team Sky went on to win the mountains classification and the super-combativity prize, winning the Cima Coppi for being the first to cross the summit of the Stelvio Pass on stage 16.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,770

Team Sky then went into the Tour de France with yet another strong lineup and the goal to help Froome achieve his fourth overall victory.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,771

Team Sky was followed by Vasil Kiryienka in third, Froome in 6th and Kwiatkowski in eighth – Froome putting between 35 seconds and nearly a minute into most of his general classification rivals.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,772

Team Sky became the 7th man to win the Tour overall without winning a stage, however he did amass ten top-ten finishes.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,773

Team Sky sent its strongest-ever squad to the Vuelta a Espana, with Froome on a mission to finally win the race that had eluded him on multiple occasions.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,774

Team Sky regained half that loss on stage 18, and cemented the overall lead as well as the combination classification with a third-place finish at Alto de l'Angliru behind Alberto Contador on stage 20.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,775

Team Sky finished the 2017 season on top of the UCI World Tour team ranking for the first time since 2012.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,776

In mid-December 2018, Team Sky announced they would withdraw their sponsorship as part of an ongoing review brought on by their acquisition by Comcast.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,777

On 19 March, Team Sky confirmed its new title sponsor, announcing it was to be renamed 'Team Ineos' on 1 May, ahead of the 2019 Tour de Yorkshire.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,778

However, the UCI's rules prevent teams from racing under different names at the same time – Sky had planned to take part in the 2019 Tour de Romandie, starting on 30 April as well as the Tour de Yorkshire.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,779

On 19 March 2019, Team Sky announced that Ineos, a multinational chemicals company owned by Jim Ratcliffe, would become the new title sponsor as of 1 May 2019.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,780

Team Sky was critical of the 'anonymous' source, demanding that the source should be made public.

FactSnippet No. 1,890,781