12 Facts About Giro d'Italia


Giro d'Italia is an annual multiple-stage bicycle race primarily held in Italy, while starting in, or passing through, other countries.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,064

The Giro d'Italia is a UCI World Tour event, which means that the teams that compete in the race are mostly UCI WorldTeams, with some additional teams invited as 'wild cards'.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,065

Giro d'Italia is one of cycling's prestigious three-week-long Grand Tours, and after the Tour de France is the second most important stage race in the world .

FactSnippet No. 1,360,066

The 1912 Giro d'Italia is the only time the competition has not had an individual classification.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,067

The Giro d'Italia was suspended for four years from 1915 to 1918, due to the First World War.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,068

The Azzurri Giro d'Italia classification is based on finishing order; however, points were awarded only to the top three finishers in each stage.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,069

Giro d'Italia contains either 21 or 20 stages and a prologue and two or three rest days.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,070

The mass-start stages make up most of the 21 racing days of each year's Giro d'Italia, there are usually two time trials in each edition of the Giro d'Italia, and sometimes three if there is a prologue or team time trial.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,071

Some most famous mountains used in the Giro d'Italia are the Passo dello Stelvio, Passo Pordoi, and the Passo di Gavia.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,072

Since 1965 the highest point in the Giro d'Italia has been dubbed the Cima Coppi in honor of the great Italian climber Fausto Coppi.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,073

Giro d'Italia takes place mainly in Italy, but some stages have departure or conclusion locations in, or pass through, the neighboring countries of San Marino, France, Switzerland, Austria, Slovenia and Vatican City State.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,074

Ultimately, the race went ahead as scheduled and every team selected for the Giro d'Italia took part, including two teams of Arabic ownership: the Bahrain-Merida team and the United Arab Emirates team.

FactSnippet No. 1,360,075