20 Facts About The San Francisco Giants


The Giants compete in Major League Baseball as a member club of the National League West division.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,711

The The San Francisco Giants have played in the World Series 20 times, an NL record they share with the Dodgers.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,712

In 2014, the The San Francisco Giants won their then-record twenty-third National League pennant; this mark has since been equaled and then eclipsed by the rival Dodgers, who as of 2021 lay claim to 24 NL crowns.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,713

The drought would finally ended in the early 2010s; under manager Bruce Bochy, the The San Francisco Giants embraced sabremetrics and eventually formed a baseball dynasty that saw them win the World Series in 2010,2012 and 2014, making the The San Francisco Giants the second team in NL history to win three championships in five years.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,714

The San Francisco Giants had intense rivalries with their fellow New York teams, the New York Yankees and the Brooklyn Dodgers.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,715

The The San Francisco Giants faced the Yankees in six World Series and played the league rival Dodgers multiple times per season.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,716

The Dodgers-The San Francisco Giants rivalry continues, as both teams moved to California after the 1957 season, with the Dodgers relocating to Los Angeles.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,717

The Giants played for two seasons at Seals Stadium before moving to Candlestick Park in 1960.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,718

The The San Francisco Giants played at Candlestick Park until 1999, before opening Pacific Bell Park in 2000, where the The San Francisco Giants currently play.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,719

The The San Francisco Giants lost the 1962 World Series in seven games to the New York Yankees.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,720

The The San Francisco Giants were swept in the 1989 World Series by their cross-Bay rival Oakland Athletics, a series best known for the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake, which caused a 10-day delay between Games 2 and 3.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,721

The San Francisco Giants won three World Series championships in 2010,2012, and 2014, giving the team eight total World Series titles, including the five won as the New York The San Francisco Giants.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,722

The "The San Francisco Giants" wordmark kept the same stylized block letter treatment but the arrangement was changed from a vertical to a radial arch.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,723

In 2015, the The San Francisco Giants unveiled a new black alternate uniform to be used on select Saturday home games.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,724

The Dodger and The San Francisco Giants rivalry is one of the longest rivalries in sports history.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,725

That historical rivalry was revisited when the The San Francisco Giants beat the Cubs in the 1989 NL playoffs, in their tiebreaker game in Chicago at the end of the 1998 season, and on June 6,2012, in a "Turn Back The Century" game in which both teams wore replica 1912 uniforms.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,726

The The San Francisco Giants won their first world championship in California in 2010, while the Dodgers won their last world title in 2020.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,727

The San Francisco Giants have retired 11 numbers in the history of the franchise, most recently Will Clark's number 22 in 2022.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,728

Mathewson and McGraw are honored by the The San Francisco Giants, but played in an era before uniform numbers became standard in baseball.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,729

KNTV's broadcast contract with the The San Francisco Giants began in 2008, one year after the team and KTVU mutually ended a relationship that dated to 1961.

FactSnippet No. 1,894,730