39 Facts About Dodgers


Los Angeles Dodgers are an American professional baseball team based in Los Angeles.

FactSnippet No. 873,527

The Dodgers compete in Major League Baseball as a member club of the National League West division.

FactSnippet No. 873,528

The Dodgers found immediate success in Los Angeles by winning the 1959 World Series, representing the franchise's first championship since moving to Los Angeles.

FactSnippet No. 873,529

The Dodgers were victorious in 1988, upsetting their heavily favored opponent in each series and becoming the first and only franchise to win multiple titles in the 80s.

FactSnippet No. 873,530

One of the most successful and storied franchises in MLB, the Dodgers have won seven World Series championships and a record 24 National League pennants.

FactSnippet No. 873,531

Today, the Dodgers are among the most popular MLB teams, enjoying large fan support both at home and on the road; they are widely seen as the most dominant team in the National League in the present day.

FactSnippet No. 873,532

In 1941, the Dodgers captured their third National League pennant, only to lose to the New York Yankees.

FactSnippet No. 873,533

In just their second season in Los Angeles, the Dodgers won their second World Series title, beating the Chicago White Sox in six games in 1959.

FactSnippet No. 873,534

The Dodgers won the pennant in 2017 for the first time since their world series victory in 1988, aided by a Justin Turner walk-off home run on the same night of Gibson's iconic walk-off home run 29 years earlier.

FactSnippet No. 873,535

The Dodgers won the pennant in 2018 for a second year in a row, moving on to lose to the Boston Red Sox in 5 games.

FactSnippet No. 873,536

In Brooklyn, the Dodgers won the NL pennant twelve times and the World Series in 1955.

FactSnippet No. 873,537

Dodgers were founded in 1883 as the Brooklyn Atlantics, borrowing the name of a defunct team that had played in Brooklyn before them.

FactSnippet No. 873,538

Dodgers was the inaugural recipient of the Rookie of the Year award, which is named the Jackie Robinson Award in his honor.

FactSnippet No. 873,539

The blue background used by the Dodgers was adopted by the Mets, honoring their New York NL forebears with a blend of Dodgers blue and Giants orange.

FactSnippet No. 873,540

Dodgers were the first Major League Baseball team to ever play in Los Angeles.

FactSnippet No. 873,541

Since moving to Los Angeles, the Dodgers have won 12 more National League Championships and six more World Series rings.

FactSnippet No. 873,542

Sportswriters started using the name "Trolley Dodgers" to refer to the Brooklyn team early in the 1895 season.

FactSnippet No. 873,543

The word "Dodgers" was first used on the front of the team's home jersey in 1933; the uniform was then white with red pinstripes and a stylized "B" on the left shoulder.

FactSnippet No. 873,544

The Dodgers wore green outlined uniforms and green caps throughout the 1937 season but reverted to blue the following year.

FactSnippet No. 873,545

In 1970, the Dodgers removed the city name from the road jerseys and had "Dodgers" on both the home and away uniforms.

FactSnippet No. 873,546

The city script returned to the road jerseys in 1999, and the tradition-rich Dodgers flirted with an alternate uniform for the first time since 1944 .

FactSnippet No. 873,547

In 2014, the Dodgers introduced an alternate road jersey: a gray version with the "Dodgers" script instead of the city name.

FactSnippet No. 873,548

Since its introduction the road jersey with the "Dodgers" script was used more often than the road jersey with the "Los Angeles" script, so much that the team now considers it as a primary road uniform.

FactSnippet No. 873,549

In 2018, the Dodgers wore their 60th anniversary patch to honor the 60 years of being in Los Angeles.

FactSnippet No. 873,550

In 2021, the Dodgers again unveiled a blue alternate uniform, this time as part of the "City Connect" series in collaboration with Nike.

FactSnippet No. 873,551

Dodgers have been groundbreaking in their signing of players from Asia; mainly Japan, South Korea, and Taiwan.

FactSnippet No. 873,552

The Dodgers were the second team to start a Japanese player in recent history, pitcher Hideo Nomo, the first team to start a South Korean player, pitcher Chan Ho Park, and the first Taiwanese player, Chin-Feng Chen.

FactSnippet No. 873,553

The Dodgers had a heated rivalry with the Cincinnati Reds during the 1970s, 1980s and early 1990s.

FactSnippet No. 873,554

The 2010 World Series was the Giants' first championship since moving to California, while the Dodgers had won six World Series titles since their move, their last title coming in the 2020 World Series.

FactSnippet No. 873,555

Padres-Dodgers rivalry has often been lopsided in favor of the Dodgers, however; recent growth between the two teams in competition has added intensity on top of proximity between Los Angeles and San Diego.

FactSnippet No. 873,556

The Dodgers have not fared as well against the Cardinals in the postseason.

FactSnippet No. 873,557

In five prior postseason series matchups, the Cardinals have won four with the Dodgers winning only the 2009 NLDS and the 2021 National League Wild Card Game.

FactSnippet No. 873,558

In 2007, the Dodgers set a franchise record for single-season attendance, attracting over 3.

FactSnippet No. 873,559

Primarily, Dodgers fans are from their own location in southern California and parts of southern Nevada.

FactSnippet No. 873,560

Dodgers is a recipient of the Baseball Hall of Fame's Ford C Frick Award for broadcasters .

FactSnippet No. 873,561

The Dodgers retired his number two days after his death, prior to Game 1 of the 1978 World Series.

FactSnippet No. 873,562

In 2017, the Dodgers honored broadcaster Vin Scully with a microphone displayed alongside the team's retired numbers.

FactSnippet No. 873,563

Dodgers have not issued the number 34 since the departure of Fernando Valenzuela in 1991, although it has not been officially retired.

FactSnippet No. 873,564

Since 1884, the Dodgers have used a total of 31 Managers, the most current being Dave Roberts, who was appointed following the 2015 postseason, after the departure of Don Mattingly.

FactSnippet No. 873,565