19 Facts About UK Parliament


UK Parliament is bicameral but has three parts, consisting of the sovereign, the House of Lords, and the House of Commons .

FactSnippet No. 984,878

UK Parliament Act 1911, as it became, prevented the Lords from blocking a money bill, and allowed them to delay any other bill for a maximum of three sessions, after which it could become law over their objections.

FactSnippet No. 984,879

Legislative authority, the Crown-in-UK Parliament, has three separate elements: the Monarch, the House of Lords, and the House of Commons.

FactSnippet No. 984,880

Formerly, no-one could be a Member of UK Parliament while holding an office of profit under the Crown, thus maintaining the separation of powers, but the principle has been gradually eroded.

FactSnippet No. 984,881

Until 1919, Members of UK Parliament who were appointed to ministerial office lost their seats in the House of Commons and had to seek re-election; the rule was abolished in 1926.

FactSnippet No. 984,882

House of Lords is known formally as, "The Right Honourable The Lords Spiritual and Temporal in UK Parliament Assembled, " the Lords Spiritual being bishops of the Church of England and the Lords Temporal being Peers of the Realm.

FactSnippet No. 984,883

Each Member of UK Parliament is chosen by a single constituency by the First-Past-the-Post electoral system.

FactSnippet No. 984,884

State Opening of UK Parliament is an annual event that marks the commencement of a session of the UK Parliament of the United Kingdom.

FactSnippet No. 984,885

UK Parliament is formally summoned 40 days in advance by the Sovereign, who is the source of parliamentary authority.

FactSnippet No. 984,886

The next session of UK Parliament begins under the procedures described above, but it is not necessary to conduct another election of a Speaker or take the oaths of allegiance afresh at the beginning of such subsequent sessions.

FactSnippet No. 984,887

Each UK Parliament comes to an end, after a number of sessions, in anticipation of a general election.

FactSnippet No. 984,888

Since the passage of the UK Parliament Act 1911 the power of the House of Lords to reject bills passed by the House of Commons has been restricted, with further restrictions were placed by the UK Parliament Act 1949.

FactSnippet No. 984,889

The jurisdiction of UK Parliament arose from the ancient custom of petitioning the Houses to redress grievances and to do justice.

FactSnippet No. 984,890

Governments have a tendency to dominate the legislative functions of UK Parliament, by using their in-built majority in the House of Commons, and sometimes using their patronage power to appoint supportive peers in the Lords.

FactSnippet No. 984,891

UK Parliament has not passed any Act defining its own sovereignty.

FactSnippet No. 984,892

UK Parliament has created national devolved parliaments and an assembly with differing degrees of legislative authority in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, but not in England, which continues to be governed by the UK Parliament of the United Kingdom.

FactSnippet No. 984,893

UK Parliament still has the power over areas for which responsibility lies with the devolved institutions, but would ordinarily gain the agreement of those institutions to act on their behalf.

FactSnippet No. 984,894

For example, although the Act of Union 1800 states that the Kingdoms of Great Britain and Ireland are to be united "forever, " UK Parliament permitted southern Ireland to leave the United Kingdom in 1922.

FactSnippet No. 984,895

Quasi-official emblem of the Houses of UK Parliament is a crowned portcullis.

FactSnippet No. 984,896