44 Facts About AFC Ajax


Amsterdamsche Football Club Ajax, known as AFC Ajax, Ajax Amsterdam, or simply Ajax, is a Dutch professional football club based in Amsterdam, that plays in the Eredivisie, the top tier in Dutch football.

FactSnippet No. 962,758

AFC Ajax was one of the most successful clubs in the world in the 20th century.

FactSnippet No. 962,759

In 1995, AFC Ajax was crowned as World Team of the Year by World Soccer magazine.

FactSnippet No. 962,760

AFC Ajax are one of five clubs to have won all three major UEFA club competitions.

FactSnippet No. 962,761

AFC Ajax plays at the Johan Cruyff Arena, which opened as the Amsterdam ArenA in 1996 and was renamed in 2018.

FactSnippet No. 962,762

In 1965, Rinus Michels, who had played for the club between 1946 and 1958, was appointed manager of AFC Ajax, implementing his philosophy of Total Football which was to become synonymous with both AFC Ajax and the Netherlands national team.

FactSnippet No. 962,763

In Kovacs' first season, AFC Ajax completed a treble of the European Cup, the Eredivisie and a third consecutive KNVB Cup.

FactSnippet No. 962,764

The following season, AFC Ajax again lost out on the Eredivisie title to PSV, but won the European Cup Winners' Cup, its first continental trophy in 14 years.

FactSnippet No. 962,765

Under the management of Louis van Gaal, AFC Ajax won the UEFA Cup in 1992 to become the second club, after Juventus, to have won all three major European club competitions.

FactSnippet No. 962,766

AFC Ajax again reached the final one year later, but were defeated on penalties by Juventus.

FactSnippet No. 962,767

However, AFC Ajax's academy continued to produce star players such as Wesley Sneijder and Rafael van der Vaart.

FactSnippet No. 962,768

AFC Ajax was drawn in a group with German champions Bayern Munich, Portuguese side Benfica and Greek champions AEK Athens.

FactSnippet No. 962,769

AFC Ajax finished runner-up in this group, qualifying for the knockout stages, where they were drawn against three-time defending champions Real Madrid.

FactSnippet No. 962,770

Matthijs de Ligt scored the winning goal for AFC Ajax to help the team advance to its first Champions League semi-final since 1997.

FactSnippet No. 962,771

AFC Ajax has expanded its talent searching programme to South Africa with AFC Ajax Cape Town.

FactSnippet No. 962,772

AFC Ajax has had a satellite club in the United States under the name AFC Ajax America, until it filed for bankruptcy.

FactSnippet No. 962,773

In 1995, the year AFC Ajax won the UEFA Champions League, the Netherlands national team was almost entirely composed of AFC Ajax players, with Edwin van der Sar in goal; players such as Michael Reiziger, Frank de Boer and Danny Blind in defence; Ronald de Boer, Edgar Davids and Clarence Seedorf in midfield; and Patrick Kluivert and Marc Overmars in attack.

FactSnippet No. 962,774

In 2011, AFC Ajax opened its first youth academies outside the Netherlands when the club partnered up with George Kazianis and All Star Consultancy in Greece to open the AFC Ajax Hellas Youth Academy.

FactSnippet No. 962,775

In 2016, AFC Ajax launched the ACA with the intention of sharing knowledge, setting up a variety of camps and clinics for both players and coaches.

FactSnippet No. 962,776

AFC Ajax later played in the Olympic Stadium built for the 1928 Summer Olympics hosted in Amsterdam.

FactSnippet No. 962,777

In 1934, AFC Ajax moved to De Meer Stadion in east Amsterdam, close to the location of Het Houten Stadion.

FactSnippet No. 962,778

In 1996, AFC Ajax moved to a new home ground in the southeast of the city known as the Amsterdam Arena, since 2018 known as the Johan Cruyff Arena.

FactSnippet No. 962,779

The new logo still sports the portrait of AFC Ajax, but drawn with just 11 lines, symbolizing the 11 players of a football team.

FactSnippet No. 962,780

When under manager Jack Kirwan the club earned promotion to the top flight of Dutch football for the first time in 1911, AFC Ajax were forced to change their colours because Sparta Rotterdam already had exactly the same outfit.

FactSnippet No. 962,781

AFC Ajax opted for white shorts and white shirt with a broad, vertical red stripe over chest and back, which still is AFC Ajax's outfit.

FactSnippet No. 962,782

AFC Ajax is the only Dutch club with an initial public offering .

FactSnippet No. 962,783

AFC Ajax's shirts have been sponsored by TDK from 1982 to 1991, and by ABN AMRO from 1991 to 2008.

FactSnippet No. 962,784

On 1 April 2007, AFC Ajax wore a different sponsor for the match against Heracles Almelo, Florius.

FactSnippet No. 962,785

Since 1992, Jong AFC Ajax competed in the Beloften Eredivisie, competing against other reserve teams such as Jong PSV, Jong FC Groningen or Jong AZ.

FactSnippet No. 962,786

Jong AFC Ajax were joined in the Eerste Divisie by Jong Twente and Jong PSV, reserve teams who have moved from the Beloften Eredivisie to the Eerste Divisie, in place of VV Katwijk, SC Veendam and AGOVV Apeldoorn, increasing the total number of teams in the Jupiler League from 18 to 20.

FactSnippet No. 962,787

AFC Ajax Amateurs, better known as Ajax Zaterdag, is a Dutch amateur football club founded 18 March 1900.

FactSnippet No. 962,788

AFC Ajax Vrouwen are the women's team of AFC Ajax, competing in the women's eredivisie, the highest level of women's football in the Netherlands.

FactSnippet No. 962,789

Ajax HVA was the baseball team of AFC Ajax founded in 1922, and competed as founding members of the Honkbal Hoofdklasse, the top flight of professional baseball in the Netherlands.

FactSnippet No. 962,790

AFC Ajax won the national baseball title a total of four times before the club opted to no longer field a baseball team, and to focus solely on football in 1972.

FactSnippet No. 962,791

AFC Ajax spent a total of 50 years at the top flight of Baseball in the Netherlands from 1922 to 1972.

FactSnippet No. 962,792

In 2016, AFC Ajax launched an esports team, with Koen Weijland as the club's first signing, making their debut on the Global stage of professional gaming.

FactSnippet No. 962,793

AFC Ajax are known for having fanatic core supporter-groups, of which F-Side and VAK410 are the most famous.

FactSnippet No. 962,794

AFC Ajax have won numerous friendly tournaments, unsanctioned by UEFA or FIFA, including the Amsterdam Tournament, Bruges Matins Trophy, Trofeo Santiago Bernabeu, Eusebio Cup, Ted Bates Trophy, Jalkapalloturnaus and Chippie Polar Cup.

FactSnippet No. 962,795

AFC Ajax have a total of 45 honorary club members, from people who have been invested within the club's administrative engagements, to committed players who have excelled in the athletic department.

FactSnippet No. 962,796

Lucky AFC Ajax participate in at least one match a year, usually in the name of charity, and commonly at football ceremonies to bid farewell to retiring players.

FactSnippet No. 962,797

One of the prerequisites for playing on Lucky AFC Ajax, which is invitational only, is that you are a member of the Club van 100, having made at least 100 official match appearances for AFC Ajax in the first team of the club.

FactSnippet No. 962,798

AFC Ajax is the most successful team of the tournament, having won it a record ten times, while Benfica from Portugal were the last team to win the tournament, in 2009.

FactSnippet No. 962,799

Each Summer the city of Amsterdam and AFC Ajax invite U-19 teams from various top clubs from around the World to participate in the tournament.

FactSnippet No. 962,800

AFC Ajax are the most successful club of the tournament, having won the trophy a total of five times.

FactSnippet No. 962,801