10 Facts About Arabian Sea


Arabian Sea is a region of the northern Indian Ocean bounded on the north by Pakistan, Iran and the Gulf of Oman, on the west by the Gulf of Aden, Guardafui Channel and the Arabian Peninsula, on the southeast by the Laccadive Sea and the Maldives, on the southwest by Somalia, and on the east by India.

FactSnippet No. 613,171

Arabian Sea is named after Arabia, the historic name of the region to the west of the sea.

FactSnippet No. 613,172

The Arabian Sea has been crossed by many important marine trade routes since the 3rd or 2nd millennium BCE.

FactSnippet No. 613,173

The largest islands in the Arabian Sea include Socotra, Masirah Island (Oman), Lakshadweep (India) and Astola Island (Pakistan).

FactSnippet No. 613,174

The countries with coastlines on the Arabian Sea are Yemen, Oman, Pakistan, Iran, India and the Maldives.

FactSnippet No. 613,175

Arabian Sea has been an important marine trade route since the era of the coastal sailing vessels from possibly as early as the 3rd millennium BCE, certainly the late 2nd millennium BCE through the later days known as the Age of Sail.

FactSnippet No. 613,176

Major Indian ports in the Arabian Sea are Mundra Port, Kandla Port, Nava Sheva, Kochi Port, Mumbai Port, and Mormugao.

FactSnippet No. 613,177

Arabian Sea has one of the world's three largest oceanic oxygen minimum zones, or “dead zones, ” along with the eastern tropical North Pacific and the eastern tropical South Pacific.

FactSnippet No. 613,178

The Arabian Sea's OMZ has the lowest levels of oxygen in the world, especially in the Gulf of Oman.

FactSnippet No. 613,179

Wildlife of the Arabian sea is diverse, and entirely unique because of the geographic distribution.

FactSnippet No. 613,180