10 Facts About Argentine Antarctica


Argentine Antarctica is an area of Antarctica claimed by Argentina as part of its national territory.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,656

Administratively, Argentine Antarctica is a department of the province of Tierra del Fuego, Antarctica, and South Atlantic Islands.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,657

Jose Maria Sobral was the first Argentine to set foot on Antarctica, in 1902, where he spent two seasons with the Swedish Antarctic Expedition of Otto Nordenskiold.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,658

Argentine activities in Antarctica are coordinated by the Instituto Antartico Argentino and Direccion Nacional del Antartico.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,659

Argentine Antarctica government decided to join the International Antarctic Expedition on, 10 October 1900.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,660

Related searches

Argentina Atlantic Patagonia

The Argentine Antarctica Navy took possession of the hut in 1954 and named it Refugio Suecia.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,661

Argentine Antarctica Government decided to add two meteorological observatories, in the South Georgia Island and Wandel Island, who already had on the islands Laurie and Observatorio.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,662

On 15 July 1955, the Chilean Government rejected the jurisdiction of the Court in that case, and on 1 August, the Argentine Antarctica Government did the same, by what the demands on 16 March 1956 they were archived.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,663

Geographic structure of Argentine Antarctica continues some features of Patagonia, located to the north of it.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,664

Flag of Tierra del Fuego, which includes Argentine Antarctica, was adopted in 1999 as the result of a competition.

FactSnippet No. 2,058,665