28 Facts About Aruba


Aruba, officially the Country of Aruba is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands physically located in the mid-south of the Caribbean Sea, about 29 kilometres north of the Venezuelan peninsula of Paraguana and 80 kilometres northwest of Curacao.

FactSnippet No. 854,589

Aruba is one of the four countries that form the Kingdom of the Netherlands, along with the Netherlands, Curacao, and Sint Maarten; the citizens of these countries are all Dutch nationals.

FactSnippet No. 854,590

Aruba has no administrative subdivisions, but, for census purposes, is divided into eight regions.

FactSnippet No. 854,591

Unlike much of the Caribbean region, Aruba has a dry climate and an arid, cactus-strewn landscape.

FactSnippet No. 854,592

Common misconception is that the name Aruba came from the Spanish Oro hubo which means "There was gold".

FactSnippet No. 854,593

Aruba subsequently became part of the Colony of Curacao and Dependencies along with Bonaire.

FactSnippet No. 854,594

In 1940, the oil facilities in Aruba came under the administration of the Dutch government-in-exile in London, causing them to be attacked by the German navy in 1942.

FactSnippet No. 854,595

In 1972, at a conference in Suriname, Betico Croes, a politician from Aruba, proposed the creation of a Dutch Commonwealth of four states: Aruba, the Netherlands, Suriname, and the Netherlands Antilles, each to have its own nationality.

FactSnippet No. 854,596

In March 1983, Aruba reached an official agreement within the Kingdom for its independence, to be developed in a series of steps as the Crown granted increasing autonomy.

FactSnippet No. 854,597

On 1 January 1986, after elections were held for its first parliament, Aruba seceded from the Netherlands Antilles, officially becoming a country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, with full independence planned for 1996.

FactSnippet No. 854,598

Aruba died in 1986, never seeing the enacting of status aparte for Aruba for which he had worked over many years.

FactSnippet No. 854,599

Aruba is a generally flat, riverless island in the Leeward Antilles island arc of the Lesser Antilles in the southern part of the Caribbean.

FactSnippet No. 854,600

Aruba has white sandy beaches on the western and southern coasts of the island, relatively sheltered from fierce ocean currents.

FactSnippet No. 854,601

Aruba is south of the typical latitudes of hurricanes but was affected by two in their early stages in late 2020.

FactSnippet No. 854,602

In recent years, the government of Aruba has shown an increased interest in acknowledging the cultural and historical importance of Papiamento.

FactSnippet No. 854,603

Venezuelan TV networks are received on the island, and Aruba has significant Venezuelan and Colombian communities.

FactSnippet No. 854,604

Aruba is cartographically split into eight for censuses; these regions have no administrative function; some allude to parishes which include a few charitable community facilities:.

FactSnippet No. 854,605

Aruba's politics take place within a framework of a 21-member Staten and an eight-member Cabinet; the Staten's 21 members are elected by direct, popular vote to serve a four-year term.

FactSnippet No. 854,606

The governor of Aruba is appointed for a six-year term by the monarch, and the prime minister and deputy prime minister are indirectly elected by the Staten for four-year terms.

FactSnippet No. 854,607

Aruba was formerly a part of the Netherlands Antilles; however, it separated from that entity in 1986, gaining its own constitution.

FactSnippet No. 854,608

Aruba is designated as a member of the Overseas Countries and Territories and is thus officially not a part of the European Union, though Aruba can and does receive support from the European Development Fund.

FactSnippet No. 854,609

The Korps Politie Aruba is the island's law enforcement agency and operates district precincts in Oranjestad, Noord, San Nicolaas, and Santa Cruz, where it is headquartered.

FactSnippet No. 854,610

Aruba is one of the overseas countries and territories of the European Union and maintains economic and cultural relations with the European Union and the United States.

FactSnippet No. 854,611

Aruba is a member of several international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund and Interpol.

FactSnippet No. 854,612

Defence on Aruba is the responsibility of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

FactSnippet No. 854,613

Aruba has one of the highest standards of living in the Caribbean region.

FactSnippet No. 854,614

Aruba has two free trade zones, where import and export and the movement of services are tax-free.

FactSnippet No. 854,615

Since 2008, Aruba has been the only island to have this service for private flights.

FactSnippet No. 854,616