11 Facts About Beiyang Government


Beiyang government, officially the Republic of China, sometimes spelled Peiyang Government and known as the First Republic of China, refers to the government of the Republic of China which sat in its capital Peking between 1912 and 1928.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,000

Name derives from the Beiyang Government Army, which dominated its politics with the rise of Yuan Shikai, who was a general of the Qing dynasty.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,001

Beiyang Government refused to move to Nanjing, fearing further assassination attempts.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,002

Beiyang Government was assassinated less than two weeks before the assembly convened.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,003

Beiyang Government then expelled the Nationalist legislators causing the assembly to lose quorum which forced it to adjourn.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,004

Beiyang Government argued that his victory over the Manchu Restoration counted as a second Xinhai Revolution and set out to craft a new provisional senate which will draft the election rules for a new parliament.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,005

Beiyang Government's opponents disagreed claiming that under Duan's argument, he should resign as the premier's position cannot exist independently from parliament.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,006

Beiyang Government's detractors rallied around President Feng and formed the Zhili clique.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,007

Beiyang Government exposed Liang's telegram ordering diplomats to back Japan on the Shandong Problem during the Washington Naval Conference.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,008

Beiyang Government neglected his presidential duties and would rather meet with his officers than the cabinet.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,009

Beiyang Government declared Cao Kun's presidency illegal as it was obtained by bribery.

FactSnippet No. 1,307,010