12 Facts About Big 12


Big 12 Conference is a college athletic conference headquartered in Irving, Texas, USA.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,655

Additionally, the Big 12 has 12 affiliate members — eight for the sport of wrestling, one for women's equestrianism, one for women's gymnastics and two for women's rowing.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,656

Big 12 Conference was formed in February 1994 when four prominent universities from Texas that were members of the Southwest Conference were invited to join the eight members of the Big Eight Conference to form a new 12 member conference.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,657

Big 12 began athletic play in fall 1996, with the Texas Tech vs Kansas State football game being the first-ever sports event staged by the conference.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,658

Big 12 is unique among the current "Power Five" conferences in that it only has 10 members, despite the name, causing some confusion.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,659

Unlike the other "Power 5" conferences in which a team only plays a portion of the other teams in the conference each season, each Big 12 team plays the other nine teams during its conference schedule.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,660

Big 12 universities are located in the states of Texas, Oklahoma, Iowa, Kansas, and West Virginia.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,661

The Big 12 subsequently assisted the ACC in drafting its GOR agreement.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,662

Big 12 is the only major conference that allows members to monetize TV rights for tier 3 events in football and men's basketball.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,663

In 2011, the Big 12 announced a new 13-year media rights deal with Fox that would ensure that every Big 12 home football game is televised, as well as greatly increasing coverage of women's basketball, conference championships and other sports.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,664

Only two years of the Big 12's existence has the conference not won at least one team National Title, 2007 and 2020.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,665

All former Big 12 members sponsored the sport throughout their tenures in the conference except Colorado, which never sponsored baseball during its time in the Big 12.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,666