14 Facts About CARICOM


CARICOM was established by the English-speaking parts of the Caribbean and currently includes all the independent anglophone island countries plus Belize, Guyana and Montserrat, as well as all other British Caribbean territories and Bermuda as associate members.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,710

In July 2012, CARICOM announced they considered making French and Dutch official languages.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,711

Currently, CARICOM has 15 full members, five associate members and eight observers.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,712

Countries of CARICOM which are designated as Less Developed Countries are:.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,713

Countries of CARICOM which are designated as More Developed Countries are:.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,714

CARICOM contains a quasi-Cabinet of the individual Heads of Government.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,715

Second-place entry titled My CARICOM came from Jamaican Adiel Thomas who won US$5,000, and a third-place song titled One CARICOM by Carmella Lawrence of St Kitts and Nevis, won US$2,500.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,716

Celebration of CARICOM Day is the selected day some Caribbean Community countries officially recognise the commemorative date of signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas, the agreement that established CARICOM on July 4,1973.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,717

Haiti's membership in CARICOM remained effectively suspended from 29 February 2004 through early June 2006 following the 2004 Haitian coup d'etat and the removal of Jean-Bertrand Aristide from the presidency.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,718

CARICOM announced that no democratically elected government in CARICOM should have its leader deposed.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,719

CARICOM thus voted on suspending the participation of Haitian officials from the councils of CARICOM.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,720

CARICOM was instrumental in the formation of the Association of Caribbean States on 24 July 1994.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,721

CARICOM accepted the commission's recommendations and opened dialogue with other Caribbean states, the Central American states and the Latin American nations of Colombia, Venezuela and Mexico which border the Caribbean, for consultation on the proposals of the West Indian Commission.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,722

CARICOM was involved in the formation of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States on 3 December 2010.

FactSnippet No. 2,245,723