11 Facts About Devanagari


Devanagari, called Nagari, is a left-to-right abugida, based on the ancient Brahmi script, used in the northern Indian subcontinent.

FactSnippet No. 957,581

The Devanagari script, composed of 47 primary characters including 14 vowels and 33 consonants, is the fourth most widely adopted writing system in the world, being used for over 120 languages.

FactSnippet No. 957,582

The Devanagari script is closely related to the Nandinagari script commonly found in numerous ancient manuscripts of South India, and it is distantly related to a number of southeast Asian scripts.

FactSnippet No. 957,583

Devanagari is a compound of "deva" and "nagari" .

FactSnippet No. 957,584

Devanagari Script known as 'Script of the divine city' came from Devanagara or the 'city of the god'.

FactSnippet No. 957,585

Devanagari is part of the Brahmic family of scripts of India, Nepal, Tibet, and Southeast Asia.

FactSnippet No. 957,586

Devanagari has been widely adopted across India and Nepal to write Sanskrit, Marathi, Hindi, Central Indo-Aryan languages, Konkani, Boro, and various Nepalese languages.

FactSnippet No. 957,587

Devanagari added 6 new characters for sounds that did not exist in Sanskrit.

FactSnippet No. 957,588

Some old-Devanagari inscriptions are found in Hindu temples of Java, such as the Prambanan temple.

FactSnippet No. 957,589

When Devanagari is used for writing languages other than Sanskrit, conjuncts are used mostly with Sanskrit words and loan words.

FactSnippet No. 957,590

Ubuntu Linux operating system supports several keyboard layouts for Devanagari, including Harvard-Kyoto, WX notation, Bolanagari and phonetic.

FactSnippet No. 957,591