11 Facts About Eastern Christian


Major Eastern Christian bodies include the Eastern Orthodox Church and the Oriental Orthodox Churches, along with those groups descended from the historic Church of the East, as well as the Eastern Catholic Churches, and the Eastern Protestant churches.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,320

The various Eastern churches do not normally refer to themselves as "Eastern", with the exception of the Assyrian Church of the East and the Ancient Church of the East.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,321

Historically, after the loss of the Levant to the Sunni Caliphate, the term Eastern Christian Church was used for the Greek Church centred in Byzantium, in contrast with the Latin Church, centered on Rome, which uses the Latin liturgical rites.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,322

Some Eastern churches have more in common historically and theologically with Western Christianity than with one another.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,323

Eastern Christian churches utilise several liturgical rites: the Alexandrian Rite, the Armenian Rite, the Byzantine Rite, the East Syriac Rite, and the West Syriac Rite.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,324

Eastern Orthodox Christianity identifies itself as the original Christian church founded by Christ and the Apostles, and traces its lineage back to the early Church through the process of apostolic succession and unchanged theology and practice.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,325

Eastern Christian Orthodoxy is thus made up of fourteen or sixteen autocephalous bodies.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,326

All Eastern Christian Orthodox are united in doctrinal agreement with each other, though a few are not in communion at present, for non-doctrinal reasons.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,327

The Eastern Christian Orthodox reject the Filioque clause as contrast to Catholics.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,328

Originally the only Eastern Christian church recognized by Zoroastrian-led Sassanid Persia, the Church of the East declared itself independent of other churches in 424 and over the next century became affiliated with Nestorianism, a Christological doctrine advanced by Nestorius, Patriarch of Constantinople from 428 to 431, which had been declared heretical in the Roman Empire.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,329

Under the rule of Khusraw I, refuge was granted to Greek Nestorian Eastern Christian philosophers including the scholars of the Persian School of Edessa, called the Academy of Athens, a Eastern Christian theological and medical university.

FactSnippet No. 2,073,330