27 Facts About Huddersfield Town


Huddersfield Town Association Football Club is a professional football club based in Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England, which compete in the EFL Championship.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,739

Huddersfield Town reached the Premier League with three successful play-off campaigns: from Division Three in 2004, from League One in 2012, and then from the Championship in 2017.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,740

Huddersfield Town went into liquidation in 1912, after which a new limited company was formed to take over the club's assets.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,741

Huddersfield Town were reportedly £25,000 in debt in 1919, and attendances fell to around 3,000.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,742

Huddersfield Town is regarded as the first manager to successfully employ the counter-attack.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,743

Huddersfield Town employed a wide-ranging scouting network to find the right players for his tactical system.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,744

Huddersfield Town only conceded 28 goals and never conceded more than two per game; the first time a team accomplished this feat.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,745

Huddersfield Town were defeated in 1930 by Chapman's Arsenal, and in 1938 by Preston North End after extra time, which was the first FA Cup Final to be broadcast on television.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,746

Huddersfield Town had two horseshoes nailed to his office wall for luck.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,747

Huddersfield Town continued to play in the second tier during the 1960s.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,748

Huddersfield Town finished just outside the promotion places the following season.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,749

Huddersfield Town reached the 1994 Football League Trophy Final, but lost against Swansea City on penalties.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,750

Huddersfield Town was replaced by Lou Macari, who was unable to halt the slide as relegation to the third tier followed at the end of the season.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,751

Huddersfield Town set a Football League record of 43 matches unbeaten, which was previously set by Nottingham Forest, in November 2011.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,752

Huddersfield Town led Town to the play-off Final against Sheffield United.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,753

Huddersfield Town avoided relegation on the last day, after a draw with Barnsley.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,754

Huddersfield Town became the second club, after Blackpool, to have won all three divisional play-offs.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,755

Wagner left the club by mutual consent in January 2019, and was replaced by Borussia Dortmund II manager Jan Siewert, but Huddersfield Town were relegated in March with six matches remaining.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,756

Huddersfield Town stuck with the same principal design until 1966, when Scottish manager Tom Johnston introduced all-blue shirts.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,757

In 2000, Huddersfield Town changed its badge to a circular design, but that was never popular with the fans, and soon returned to the heraldic-style badge.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,758

In 2019, Huddersfield Town agreed to have Paddy Power shirt sponsorship in a striking beauty queen style diagonal sash design.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,759

Huddersfield Town returned to a updated version of their heraldic-style crest in 2019.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,760

Huddersfield Town were the first team to have played at each of the four professional levels of English football at two different grounds.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,761

Huddersfield Town hold the better head-to-head record against City; 21 matches have been won, 17 drawn, and 14 lost.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,762

Huddersfield Town have a rivalry with Cambridgeshire club Peterborough United, largely fuelled by the play-off meetings in 1992 and 2011.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,763

In 1926, Huddersfield Town became the first English team to win the First Division title in three consecutive seasons, a feat not surpassed to this day, although it has been equalled by Arsenal, Liverpool, and on two occasions by Manchester United.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,764

Huddersfield Town were the second team, after Blackpool, to have won all three divisional play-offs.

FactSnippet No. 1,779,765