16 Facts About West Yorkshire


West Yorkshire is a metropolitan and ceremonial county in England.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,003

West Yorkshire came into existence as a metropolitan county in 1974 after the passage of the Local Government Act 1972 and has a population of 2.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,004

West Yorkshire includes the West Yorkshire Built-up Area, which is the biggest and most built-up urban area within the historic county boundaries of Yorkshire.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,005

Since 1 April 2014, West Yorkshire has been a combined authority area, with the local authorities pooling together some functions over transport and regeneration as the West Yorkshire Combined Authority.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,006

Small section of West Yorkshire forms scattered settlements into Rochdale in Greater Manchester with the villages of Walsden and Rishworth in Calderdale which are only 8 and 11 miles apart from the main town centre.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,007

West Yorkshire has close ties with Lancashire in terms of history, local identity and infrastructure including with the War of the Roses and Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,008

The civil parish of Saddleworth in Oldham was the only part of West Riding of Yorkshire to be moved into the county of Greater Manchester.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,009

West Yorkshire was formed as a metropolitan county in 1974, by the Local Government Act 1972, and corresponds roughly to the core of the historic West Riding of Yorkshire and the county boroughs of Bradford, Dewsbury, Halifax, Huddersfield, Leeds, and Wakefield.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,010

West Yorkshire contains green belt interspersed throughout the county, surrounding the West Yorkshire Urban Area.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,011

West Yorkshire has an Oceanic climate, similar to other parts of the United Kingdom.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,012

West Yorkshire tends to be cooler than counties further south, due to inland location and high elevation .

FactSnippet No. 1,093,013

Twelve farmers who farm within the Rhubarb Triangle applied to have the name "West Yorkshire forced rhubarb" added to the list of foods and drinks that have their names legally protected by the European Commission's Protected Food Name scheme.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,014

West Yorkshire has two mainline railway stations, Leeds and Wakefield Westgate.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,015

Unlike South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire has no light transit system; the Leeds Supertram was proposed but was later cancelled after the withdrawal of government funding.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,016

Major football clubs in West Yorkshire include Leeds United, Huddersfield Town, and Bradford City.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,017

West Yorkshire used to host regular speedway meetings, having the Halifax Dukes and the Bradford Dukes teams.

FactSnippet No. 1,093,018