10 Facts About Narmada River


Narmada River, called the Reva and previously known as Narbada or anglicised as Nerbudda, is the 5th longest river and overall longest west-flowing river in India.

FactSnippet No. 614,879

Narmada River is a Sanskrit word meaning "The Giver of Pleasure".

FactSnippet No. 614,880

Source of the Narmada River is a small reservoir, known as the Narmada River Kund, located at Amarkantak on the Amarkantak Plateau in the Anuppur District, Shahdol zone of eastern Madhya Pradesh.

FactSnippet No. 614,881

Beyond this point up to its meeting the Arabian Sea, the Narmada River enters three narrow valleys between the Vindhya scarps in the north and the Satpura range in the South.

FactSnippet No. 614,882

The Narmada River Valley is a graben, a layered block of the Earth's crust that dropped down relative to the blocks on either side due to ancient spreading of the Earth's crust.

FactSnippet No. 614,883

The Narmada River's watershed includes the northern slopes of the Satpuras, and the steep southern slope of the Vindhyas, but not the Vindhyan tableland, the streams from which flow into the Ganges and Yamuna.

FactSnippet No. 614,884

Narmada River is worshipped as mother goddess by Narmadeeya Brahmins.

FactSnippet No. 614,885

Development of the Narmada river has led to the inundation of some archaeological and architectural sites.

FactSnippet No. 614,886

Investigations for harnessing the Narmada waters started around the time of independence, when Central Waterways, Irrigation and Navigation Commission identified several storage schemes and in 1948 the Khosla Committee prioritised the proposals and named Tawa, Bargi, Punasa and Bharuch projects (the last three on the main stem of the river) for preparation of reports.

FactSnippet No. 614,887

Thus, the Narmada River development is envisaged as a multi state program for development of hydropower and irrigation dams and their associated irrigation networks.

FactSnippet No. 614,888