17 Facts About Brahmins


The Brahmins are designated as the priestly class as they serve as priests and religious teachers.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,769

Traditional occupation of Brahmins is that of priesthood at the Hindu temples or at socio-religious ceremonies, and rite of passage rituals such as solemnising a wedding with hymns and prayers.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,770

Traditionally, the Brahmins are accorded the highest ritual status of the four social classes.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,771

In practice, Indian texts suggest that some Brahmins historically became agriculturalists, warriors, traders, and had held other occupations in the Indian subcontinent.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,772

Brahmins were expected to perform all six Vedic duties as opposed to other twice-borns who performed three.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,773

Historical records from mid 1st millennium CE and later, suggest Brahmins were agriculturalists and warriors in medieval India, quite often instead of as exception.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,774

The Pali Canon and other Buddhist texts such as the Jataka Tales record the livelihood of Brahmins to have included being farmers, handicraft workers and artisans such as carpentry and architecture.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,775

Buddhist sources extensively attest, state Greg Bailey and Ian Mabbett, that Brahmins were "supporting themselves not by religious practice, but employment in all manner of secular occupations", in the classical period of India.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,776

Under Golconda Sultanate Telugu Niyogi Brahmins served in many different roles such as accountants, ministers, revenue administration and in judicial service.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,777

Similarly, the Tamil Brahmins were quick to take up English education during British colonial rule and dominate government service and law.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,778

Eric Bellman states that during the Islamic Mughal Empire era Brahmins served as advisers to the Mughals, later to the British Raj.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,779

Brahmins composed his spiritual message in poems, using widely spoken vernacular language rather than Sanskrit, to make it widely accessible.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,780

Many 18th and 19th century Brahmins are credited with religious movements that criticised idolatry.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,781

Some Brahmins formed an influential group in Burmese Buddhist kingdoms in 18th- and 19th-century.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,782

Brahmins were consulted in the transmission, development and maintenance of law and justice system outside India.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,783

Brahmins have been part of the Royal tradition of Thailand, particularly for the consecration and to mark annual land fertility rituals of Buddhist kings.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,784

The tradition asserts that the Thai Brahmins have roots in Hindu holy city of Varanasi and southern state of Tamil Nadu, go by the title Pandita, and the various annual rites and state ceremonies they conduct has been a blend of Buddhist and Hindu rituals.

FactSnippet No. 1,723,785