22 Facts About Northern Territory


Northern Territory is an Australian territory in the central and central northern regions of Australia.

FactSnippet No. 963,523

Northern Territory's population is concentrated in coastal regions and along the Stuart Highway.

FactSnippet No. 963,524

The land now occupied by the Northern Territory was part of colonial New South Wales from 1825 to 1863, except for a brief time from February to December 1846, when it was part of the short-lived colony of North Australia.

FactSnippet No. 963,525

On 1 January 1911, a decade after federation, the Northern Territory was separated from South Australia, alongside the Australian Capital Territory from NSW, and transferred to federal control.

FactSnippet No. 963,526

The administrator of the Northern Territory is an official acting as the King's indirect representative in the territory.

FactSnippet No. 963,527

Northern Territory end, including Darwin, has a tropical climate with high humidity and two seasons, the wet and dry season .

FactSnippet No. 963,528

Northern Territory Parliament is one of the three unicameral parliaments in the country.

FactSnippet No. 963,529

The Northern Territory was split into five electorates: Darwin, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Batchelor, and Stuart.

FactSnippet No. 963,530

The Northern Territory was offered three senators, rather than the twelve guaranteed to original states.

FactSnippet No. 963,531

Northern Territory became self-governing on 1 July 1978 under its own administrator appointed by the Governor-General of Australia.

FactSnippet No. 963,532

Northern Territory is represented in the federal parliament by two members in the House of Representatives and two members in the Senate.

FactSnippet No. 963,533

Northern Territory is divided into seventeen local government areas: two cities, three municipalities, nine regions, and three shires.

FactSnippet No. 963,534

Aboriginal land councils in the Northern Territory are groups of Aboriginal landowners, set up under the Aboriginal Land Rights Act 1976.

FactSnippet No. 963,535

Two historically dominant political parties in the Northern Territory are the conservative Country Liberal Party, and the social-democratic Australian Labor Party.

FactSnippet No. 963,536

The median age of residents of the Northern Territory is 31 years, six years younger than the national median age.

FactSnippet No. 963,537

Northern Territory has one university which opened in 1989 under the name of the Northern Territory University.

FactSnippet No. 963,538

Northern Territory Library is the territory's research and reference library.

FactSnippet No. 963,539

Northern Territory's economy is largely driven by mining, which is concentrated on energy producing minerals, petroleum and energy and contributes around $2.

FactSnippet No. 963,540

Gross state product per capita in the Northern Territory is higher than any Australian state or territory and is higher than the gross domestic product per capita for Australia .

FactSnippet No. 963,541

Northern Territory announced that it will undertake a project which will benefit its marine industry, including the development of a new Marine Industry Park near Darwin.

FactSnippet No. 963,542

Northern Territory is the most sparsely populated state or territory in Australia.

FactSnippet No. 963,543

Northern Territory has only one daily tabloid newspaper, News Corporation's Northern Territory News, or NT News.

FactSnippet No. 963,544