10 Facts About Saxony-Anhalt


Saxony-Anhalt is a state of Germany, bordering the states of Brandenburg, Saxony, Thuringia and Lower Saxony.

FactSnippet No. 857,949

State of Saxony-Anhalt was formed in July 1945 after World War II, when the Soviet army administration in Allied-occupied Germany formed it from the former Prussian Province of Saxony and the Free State of Anhalt.

FactSnippet No. 857,950

Saxony-Anhalt became part of the German Democratic Republic in 1949, but was dissolved in 1952 during administrative reforms and its territory divided into the districts of Halle and Magdeburg, with the city of Torgau joining the district of Leipzig.

FactSnippet No. 857,951

Saxony-Anhalt is renowned for its rich cultural heritage and possesses the highest concentration of UNESCO World Heritage sites in Germany.

FactSnippet No. 857,952

Saxony-Anhalt is a federal state with a relatively short history, if compared to other German federal states.

FactSnippet No. 857,953

From 1952 on the East German states were dissolved, and Saxony-Anhalt's territory was divided into the East German districts of Halle and Magdeburg, except that the territory around Torgau was assigned to Leipzig.

FactSnippet No. 857,954

Saxony-Anhalt contains many sites tied to Martin Luther's life, including Lutherstadt Eisleben and Lutherstadt Wittenberg.

FactSnippet No. 857,955

In 2018, the majority of citizens in Saxony-Anhalt were irreligious and more were leaving the churches than entering them – in fact, Saxony-Anhalt is the most irreligious state in Germany.

FactSnippet No. 857,956

In 2000, Saxony-Anhalt had the highest unemployment rate of all German states, at 20.

FactSnippet No. 857,957

Saxony-Anhalt has seven World Heritage Sites, the highest number of all states in Germany.

FactSnippet No. 857,958