12 Facts About White Sea


The whole of the White Sea is under Russian sovereignty and considered to be part of the internal waters of Russia.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,427

White Sea is one of the four seas named in English after common colour terms—the others being the Black, Red and Yellow Seas.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,428

Kandalaksha Gulf lies in the western part of the White Sea; it is the deepest part of the sea, reaching 340 metres .

FactSnippet No. 1,339,429

White Sea contains a large number of islands, but most of them are small.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,430

White Sea is a water-filled depression in the block of a continental shelf known as the Baltic Shield.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,431

The ships of Willoughby were separated and the other two were lost at sea, but Edward Bonaventure managed to pass the White Sea and reach Kholmogory, from where Chancellor was escorted to Moscow to meet the Russian Tsar, Ivan IV.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,432

Between the 15th and early 18th centuries, the White Sea served as the major trade route in and out of Russia.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,433

Entire water area of the White Sea is the territorial waters of the Russian Federation.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,434

Any movement of foreign vessels on the White Sea is carried out in accordance with the legislation of the Russian Federation.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,435

White Sea is an important traffic centre of northwestern Russia, interconnecting various economic regions and providing an outlet to the foreign routes.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,436

The Baltic White Sea, in turn, is connected by the Volga–Baltic Waterway to the Volga River, Black, Caspian, and Azov seas.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,437

The major ports on the White Sea are Arkhangelsk, Belomorsk, Onega, Mezen, Kem, Kandalaksha and Umba.

FactSnippet No. 1,339,438