19 Facts About AIMIM


AIMIM has held the Lok Sabha seat for the Hyderabad constituency since 1984.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,554

Under his leadership, the AIMIM shifted from a hardline policy of independence to a pragmatic direction.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,555

In 1960, AIMIM won the Mallepally ward of Hyderabad Municipal Corporation.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,556

Mohammad Majid Hussain of the AIMIM was unanimously elected as the Mayor of Greater Hyderabad on 2 January 2012.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,557

In 1993, AIMIM suffered a split, with a faction led by Amanullah Khan creating the Majlis Bachao Tehreek.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,558

In 2018, AIMIM allied with Prakash Ambedkar's Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,559

Later that year, Qamrul Hoda won the bye election from Kishanganj Assembly Constituency on AIMIM ticket defeating Congress candidate Dr Jawaid Azad's mother.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,560

AIMIM contested the 2020 Bihar Legislative Assembly election as part of the Grand Democratic Secular Front.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,561

On 29 June 2022, four out of five AIMIM MLAs joined RJD in the presence of Lalu Prasad Yadav leaving behind Amour MLA Akhtarul Iman lone party MLA in Bihar.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,562

AIMIM claimed that every MLA was given huge sum of money in exchange for joining RJD.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,563

AIMIM contested on 100 seats in 2022 election in UP but failed miserably.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,564

AIMIM panel won all seats in Jamalpur and Maktampura Wards.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,565

All 7 seats AIMIM won came at the cost of Congress, these seats belonged to Congress in 2015.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,566

Later AIMIM won Bharuch municipality ward no 10 bye election by 1400 votes.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,567

AIMIM opened its account in Tamil Nadu by winning 2 seats of the 16 wards it contested in Vaniyambadi municipal elections 2022.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,568

AIMIM has occasionally fielded Hindus in various assembly and local body elections.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,569

Aurangabad Municipal Corporation AIMIM fielded 12 non-Muslim candidates, mostly underprivileged Hindus referred to as Dalits.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,570

AIMIM has announced 19 Hindus candidates in various assembly seats in 2022 Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly election, with Pandit Manmohan Jha Gama being the first one.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,571

AIMIM donated over 5 crores aid to the 2017 Bihar flood victims in August 2017.

FactSnippet No. 1,388,572