18 Facts About Algoma University


Algoma University, commonly shortened to Algoma U or Algoma, is a public university with its main campus located in Sault Ste.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,762

Algoma University U offers satellite programming in Brampton and Timmins, Ontario.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,763

Shingwauk Hall, presently the main building of Algoma University College, was erected in 1935 after it was deemed the Shingwauk Home original building had deteriorated beyond repair.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,764

One year later, on 17 December 1965, Algoma University College was established as a non-sectarian institution affiliated with Laurentian University after the Affiliation Agreement was signed.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,765

In September 1967, Algoma University College began offering courses to its first 77 students at what is today Sault College, formally then known as Cambrian College, under the leadership of Principal Reverend Charles A Krug .

FactSnippet No. 1,208,766

The majority of students studying at Algoma University College were mature or "extension" students looking to enhance their post-secondary education by taking first-year Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science courses.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,767

Algoma University College received its own emblem, the Thunderbird, as designed by Dora de Pedery-Hunt in 1972.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,768

On 19 May 2006, Algoma University College entered into a new relationship, which further entrenched its pre-existing relationship with First Nations people.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,769

On 13 July 2009, Algoma University conferred its first degrees as an independent university, with 60 students earning Algoma University degrees.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,770

Algoma University offers more than 40 programs - three and four year bachelor's degrees in disciplines such as biology, business, computer science, community development, English, geography, history, psychology, social work, sociology, political science, music and fine arts.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,771

Algoma University has diploma-to-degree agreements with Cambrian College, Confederation College, George Brown College, Humber College, Mohawk College, Northern College, Sheridan College, Sault College and Seneca College, as well as a student exchange agreement with the Algoma University of the Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,772

Arthur A Wishart Library at Algoma University is a member of the Ontario Council of University Libraries and is a contributor to Open Content Alliance.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,773

In 2009 Algoma University received more than $16 million to build a biosciences and technology convergence centre.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,774

Housing over 96 students, Algoma University Dormitory is furnished with an open concept area, a single bed, wardrobe and a desk with a high speed wireless internet connection.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,775

Algoma University offers extension programming out of campuses in Timmins and Brampton.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,776

Algoma University offered extension programming in St Thomas, Ontario from September 2012 until April 2015.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,777

Algoma University Thunderbirds participate in the Ontario University Athletics and Canadian Interuniversity Sport conferences in the sports of basketball, soccer, cross-country running, curling, wrestling, and Nordic skiing.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,778

Anishinaabe students of Algoma University have an active Shingwauk Anishinaabe Students' Association and are represented on the Algoma University Student Union executive, the Anishinaabe Peoples Council and the Cross Cultural Committee.

FactSnippet No. 1,208,779