26 Facts About Australia Victoria


Australia Victoria is home to numerous Aboriginal groups, including the Boonwurrung, the Bratauolung, the Djadjawurrung, the Gunai, the Gunditjmara, the Taungurung, the Wathaurong, the Wurundjeri, and the Yorta Yorta.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,939

In 1770 James Cook claimed the east coast of the Australian continent for the Kingdom of Great Britain, and from 1788 the area that is Victoria was a part of the colony of New South Wales.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,940

Much of what is Australia Victoria was included in 1836 in the Port Phillip District of New South Wales.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,941

Australia Victoria is divided into 79 local government areas, as well as several unincorporated areas which the state administers directly.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,942

State of Victoria was originally home to many Aboriginal Australian nations that had occupied the land for tens of thousands of years before European settlement.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,943

The first British settlement in the area later known as Australia Victoria was established in October 1803 under Lieutenant-Governor David Collins at Sullivan Bay on Port Phillip.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,944

In 1854 at Ballarat, an armed rebellion against the government of Australia Victoria was made by miners protesting against mining taxes.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,945

Average yearly precipitation:Australia Victoria's rainfall is concentrated in the mountainous north-east and coast.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,946

Australia Victoria's founding Anglo-Celtic population has been supplemented by successive waves of migrants from Southern and Eastern Europe, Asia and, most recently, Africa and the Middle East.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,947

Australia Victoria has a parliamentary form of government based on the Westminster System.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,948

The State of Australia Victoria was divided into eight electorates with each electorate represented by five representatives elected by Single Transferable Vote.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,949

Premier of Australia Victoria is the leader of the political party or coalition with the most seats in the Legislative Assembly.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,950

Executive authority is vested in the Governor of Victoria who represents and is appointed by the monarch of Australia.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,951

Australia Victoria has a written constitution enacted in 1975, but based on the 1855 colonial constitution, passed by the United Kingdom Parliament as the Australia Victoria Constitution Act 1855, which establishes the Parliament as the state's law-making body for matters coming under state responsibility.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,952

Australia Victoria is incorporated into 79 municipalities for the purposes of local government, including 39 shires, 32 cities, seven rural cities and one borough.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,953

Australia Victoria has several private Jewish and Islamic primary and secondary schools.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,954

Australia Victoria has 12 government-run institutions of technical and further education.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,955

Australia Victoria plays an important role in providing goods for the defence industry.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,956

Australia Victoria adopted the Torrens system of land registration with the Real Property Act 1862.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,957

Crown land held in Australia Victoria is managed under the Crown Land Act 1978 and the Land Act 1958.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,958

Rail transport in Australia Victoria is provided by several private and public railway operators who operate over government-owned lines.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,959

Port of Melbourne is the largest port for containerised and general cargo in Australia Victoria, and is located in Melbourne on the mouth of the Yarra River, which is at the head of Port Phillip.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,960

Australia Victoria is represented in the National Rugby League by the Melbourne Storm and in Super Rugby by the Melbourne Rebels.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,961

Australia Victoria's most prestigious footrace, the Stawell Gift, is an annual event.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,962

Australia Victoria is home to the Aussie Millions poker tournament, the richest in the Southern Hemisphere.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,963

Main horse racing tracks in Australia Victoria are Caulfield Racecourse, Flemington Racecourse and Sandown Racecourse.

FactSnippet No. 1,715,964