16 Facts About Big East


Big East Conference is a collegiate athletic conference that competes in NCAA Division I in ten men's sports and twelve women's sports.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,250

Conference was formed after the "Catholic Seven" members of the original Big East Conference elected to split from the football-playing schools in order to start a new conference focused on basketball.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,251

In June 2019, the Big East invited the University of Connecticut to "re-join" the conference from the AAC, which they did on July 1,2020.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,252

Original Big East Conference was founded in 1979, when Providence College basketball coach Dave Gavitt spearheaded an effort to assemble an east coast basketball-centric collegiate athletic conference.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,253

The core of the Big East formed when Providence, St John's, Georgetown, and Syracuse invited Seton Hall, Connecticut, Holy Cross, Rutgers, and Boston College.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,254

The Big East was one of the most severely impacted conferences during conference realignment of 2005 and the early 2010s.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,255

On March 15, ESPN stated that the Big East would add Butler and Xavier from the Atlantic 10 Conference, as well as Creighton from the Missouri Valley Conference, which was officially announced at a news conference in New York City on March 20,2013.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,256

In June 2019, various news outlets reported that UConn would soon leave the AAC for the Big East, pending a decision on the future of the school's football program.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,257

Many news stories described UConn as "rejoining" the Big East, because UConn was a founding member of the original Big East, but remained with the football-playing members when the conference reorganized as the AAC in 2013.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,258

Mutual interest between UConn and the new Big East had been reported by several sources starting in 2016.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,259

On June 24,2019, the Big East formally approved an invitation for UConn to join the conference.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,260

Big East began sponsoring field hockey in 1989, but conference records only indicate that a postseason tournament was held; the first recorded season of full league play was 1993, with Boston College, UConn, Georgetown, Providence, Syracuse, and Villanova participating.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,261

However, during the first season of the reconfigured Big East in 2013, Providence was an affiliate member of the America East Conference.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,262

Big East began sponsoring women's lacrosse in the 2001 season with Boston College, UConn, Georgetown, Notre Dame, Rutgers, Syracuse, and Virginia Tech.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,263

However, after the 2018 season, the Big East lost all of its women's lacrosse associate members except Denver to the new women's lacrosse conference of The American.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,264

The Big East retained its automatic NCAA tournament bid for the 2019 season and beyond by adding Old Dominion, already an associate member in field hockey.

FactSnippet No. 1,563,265