10 Facts About Caucasus


Caucasus, or Caucasia, is a region between the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea; mainly comprising Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, and parts of Southern Russia.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,014

The Caucasus Mountains, including the Greater Caucasus range, have historically been considered as a natural barrier between Eastern Europe and Western Asia.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,015

In Georgian tradition, the term Caucasus is derived from Caucas, the son of the Biblical Togarmah and legendary forefather of Nakh peoples.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,016

Term Caucasus is not only used for the mountains themselves but includes Ciscaucasia and Transcaucasia.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,017

The Kuma-Manych Depression, the geologic depression that divides the Russian Plain from the North Caucasus foreland is often regarded by classical and non-British sources as the natural and historical boundary between Europe and Asia.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,018

The nation states that compose the Caucasus today are the post-Soviet states Georgia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, and the Russian Federation.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,019

Peoples of the northern and southern Caucasus mostly are Shia Muslims, Sunni Muslims, Eastern Orthodox Christians or Armenian Christians.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,020

Territory of the Caucasus region was inhabited by Homo erectus since the Paleolithic Era.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,021

In Persian mythology, the Caucasus might be associated with the mythic Mount Qaf which is believed to surround the known world.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,022

Caucasus has many economically important minerals and energy resources, such as gold, silver, copper, iron ore, manganese, tungsten, zinc, oil, natural gas, and coal .

FactSnippet No. 1,134,023