21 Facts About Cincinnati Bengals


Cincinnati Bengals are a professional American football team based in Cincinnati.

FactSnippet No. 666,973

The Cincinnati Bengals compete in the National Football League as a member club of the league's American Football Conference North division.

FactSnippet No. 666,974

Cincinnati Bengals ultimately chose the former when a deal between the city, Hamilton County, and Major League Baseball's Cincinnati Reds was struck that resulted in an agreement to build a multipurpose stadium which could host both baseball and football games.

FactSnippet No. 666,975

Cincinnati Bengals was selected because, like their neighbors the Reds, they could draw from several large neighboring cities that are all no more than 110 miles away from downtown Cincinnati Bengals, along with Indianapolis, until the Baltimore Colts relocated there prior to the 1984 NFL season.

FactSnippet No. 666,976

The Cincinnati Bengals had several head coaches and several of their top draft picks did not pan out.

FactSnippet No. 666,977

The turning point for the Cincinnati Bengals was during the 2021 season, when they won their first playoff game in 31 years and advanced to Super Bowl LVI, their first appearance in the Super Bowl in 33 years, where they lost to the Los Angeles Rams.

FactSnippet No. 666,978

Cincinnati Bengals reached the Super Bowl twice during the 1980s, in Super Bowl XVI and Super Bowl XXIII, but lost both times to the San Francisco 49ers.

FactSnippet No. 666,979

The Cincinnati Bengals' fortunes changed for the worse as the team posted 14 consecutive non-winning seasons and were saddled with numerous draft busts.

FactSnippet No. 666,980

Cincinnati Bengals returned to the playoffs again in 2009 in a season that included the franchise's first-ever division sweep.

FactSnippet No. 666,981

Cincinnati Bengals later was moved at the NFL trade deadline to the Oakland Raiders.

FactSnippet No. 666,982

The 2014 season started well with the Cincinnati Bengals winning their first three contests against the Baltimore Ravens, the Atlanta Falcons, and the Tennessee Titans.

FactSnippet No. 666,983

In 2020, the Cincinnati Bengals improved under rookie Joe Burrow, but lost Burrow to a season-ending injury in week 11 to the Washington Football Team that all but ended their season.

FactSnippet No. 666,984

The Cincinnati Bengals were unique in the NFL as they did not have secondary uniform numbers on the jerseys until they appeared on the sleeves in the 1980 season; they were the only NFL team that did not have TV numbers prior to that point.

FactSnippet No. 666,985

In 1997, the Cincinnati Bengals designed a logo consisting of a leaping tiger, and it was added to the uniform sleeves .

FactSnippet No. 666,986

The Cincinnati Bengals have worn their black uniforms at home throughout their history, with some exceptions such as the 1970 season when the Cincinnati Bengals wore white at home for the entire season, and most of the 1971 season.

FactSnippet No. 666,987

Since 2005, the Cincinnati Bengals wear white for September home games where the heat could become a factor.

FactSnippet No. 666,988

In 2016, the Cincinnati Bengals unveiled their all-white Color Rush alternate uniform, featuring black tiger stripes along the sleeves and pants.

FactSnippet No. 666,989

The Cincinnati Bengals wore three different pants with this set: black pants with orange stripes, white pants with black stripes, and white pants with orange stripes.

FactSnippet No. 666,990

Cincinnati Bengals fans started chanting "Who dey" in their 1981 Super Bowl run.

FactSnippet No. 666,991

Section 600 Staff in 2018 say, "If the Cincinnati Bengals did not flat out just steal the chant from Louisiana, it appears that their chant comes from a mix of a local beer company and a car dealership commercial".

FactSnippet No. 666,992

Ken Anderson replaced Carter as Cincinnati Bengals's starting quarterback in 1972 and was even more successful.

FactSnippet No. 666,993