10 Facts About East Asian


East Asian Asia is the eastern region of Asia, which is defined in both geographical and ethno-cultural terms.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,131

The modern states of East Asian Asia include China, Japan, Mongolia, North Korea, South Korea, and Taiwan.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,132

Major religions in East Asian Asia include Buddhism, Confucianism and Neo-Confucianism, Taoism, Ancestral worship, and Chinese folk religion in Mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan, Shintoism in Japan, and Christianity, and Musok in Korea.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,133

The various other regions in East Asian Asia were selective in the Chinese influences they adopted into their local customs.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,134

Chinese civilization existed for about 1500 years before other East Asian civilizations emerged into history, Imperial China would exert much of its cultural, economic, technological, and political muscle onto its neighbours.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,135

Under Emperor Wu of Han, the Han dynasty made China the regional power in East Asian Asia, projecting much of its imperial power on its neighbours.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,136

UNSD definition of East Asian Asia is based on statistical convenience, but others commonly use the same definition of Mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, Mongolia, North Korea, South Korea, Taiwan and Japan.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,137

However, in this context, the term "Far East Asian" is used by the Europeans to cover ASEAN countries and the countries in East Asian Asia.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,138

However, being a Eurocentric term, Far East Asian describes the region's geographical position in relation to Europe rather than its location within Asia.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,139

The relationship between China and its cultural influence on East Asian Asia has been compared to the historical influence of Greco-Roman civilization on Europe and the Western World.

FactSnippet No. 1,181,140