11 Facts About Hockey Canada


Hockey Canada, which merged with the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association in 1994, is the national governing body of ice hockey and ice sledge hockey in Canada.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,371

Hockey Canada is based in Calgary, with a secondary office in Ottawa and regional centres in Toronto, Winnipeg and Montreal.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,372

Ottawa and District Amateur Hockey Canada Association joined in 1920, followed by the Maritime Amateur Hockey Canada Association in 1928.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,373

The rule change means the 1948 Allan Cup champion Royal Montreal Hockey Canada Club were not eligible for the 1948 Winter Olympics, so the CAHA sent the RCAF Flyers instead and were victorious.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,374

Newfoundland Amateur Hockey Canada Association, led by association president Don Johnson, entered the CAHA in 1966.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,375

The New Brunswick Amateur Hockey Canada Association left the Maritime AHA brand in 1968 and entered the CAHA as a member.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,376

In 1968, the Hockey Canada organization was founded to oversee Canada's national teams.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,377

Also in 1970, Hockey Canada pulled out of IIHF competition and would not return to the fold until 1977 in protest of the IIHF's soft stance on Soviet and Czechoslovakian teams using "professional amateurs" in international competition but not allowing professional players to compete for Hockey Canada.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,378

Hockey Canada's team was composed of NHL stars, while the Soviet players were from the Red Army.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,379

In 1990, the forerunner to the Canadian Junior Hockey Canada League was created as an umbrella organization, within the CAHA, to oversee Junior A hockey.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,380

In 2004, the Canada men's national ice sledge hockey team was welcomed into the Hockey Canada fold, and Mark Aubry was named the Chief Medical Officer of Hockey Canada.

FactSnippet No. 1,230,381