17 Facts About Holstein


The history of Holstein is closely intertwined with the history of the Danish Duchy of Schleswig .

FactSnippet No. 1,376,137

Holstein's name comes from the Holcetae, a Saxon tribe mentioned by Adam of Bremen as living on the north bank of the Elbe, to the west of Hamburg.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,138

The ownership of what would late become eastern Holstein was given to the Obotrites, namely the Wagrians, and the Saxon elite was deported to various areas of the empire.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,139

New county of Holstein was established in 1111; it was first a fief of the Duchy of Saxony, then of the Duchy of Saxe-Lauenburg, and finally of the Prince-Bishopric of Lubeck.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,140

County of Holstein was ruled by the House of Schaumburg; the first count was Adolf I, Count of Holstein.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,141

Holstein was temporarily occupied by Denmark after the Battle of Stellau, but was reconquered by the Count of Schauenburg and his allies in the Battle of Bornhoved .

FactSnippet No. 1,376,142

Counts of Schauenburg and Holstein partitioned Holstein several times among the inheriting sons into up to six lines, named after their towns of residence:.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,143

The Duchy of Holstein retained that status until the dissolution of the Empire in 1806.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,144

Holstein-Gottorp, known as Ducal Holstein, was given to a cadet branch of the House of Oldenburg, to which the kings of Denmark belonged.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,145

Dynastic name Holstein-Gottorp comes as convenient usage from the technically more correct Duke of Schleswig and Holstein at Gottorp.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,146

Adolf, the third son of Duke and King Frederick I and the second youngest half-brother of King Christian III, founded the dynastic branch called House of Holstein-Gottorp, which is a cadet branch of the then royal Danish House of Oldenburg.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,147

The Danish monarchs and the Dukes of Holstein-Gottorp ruled both duchies together as to general government collected their revenues in their separate estates.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,148

John the Elder conveniently called Duke of Schleswig-Holstein-Haderslev produced no issue, so no branch emerged from his side.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,149

The Duke of Holstein-Gottorp became emperor of Russia in 1762 as Peter III and was planning an attack on Denmark to recover the Holstein-Gottorp lands possessions in Schleswig, which were seized by the Danish king in 1713.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,150

Territory of Holstein was enlarged by the conquest of the independent Republic of Dithmarschen in 1559, which was divided among the three ducal houses.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,151

Holstein, meanwhile including former Saxe-Lauenburg and the former Free and Hanseatic City of Lubeck and Region of Lubeck regained statehood, now united with Schleswig, in 1946, when the British occupation government elevated the province to the State of Schleswig-Holstein, followed by the official dissolution of Prussia in 1947.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,152

Cities in Holstein included Kiel, Altona, Gluckstadt, Rendsburg, Segeberg, Heiligenhafen, Oldenburg in Holstein, and Plon.

FactSnippet No. 1,376,153