21 Facts About Luxembourg City


Luxembourg, known as Luxembourg City, is the capital city of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the country's most populous commune.

FactSnippet No. 821,377

The city contains Luxembourg Castle, established by the Franks in the Early Middle Ages, around which a settlement developed.

FactSnippet No. 821,378

Luxembourg City is one of the de facto capitals of the European Union, as it is the seat of several institutions, agencies and bodies, including the Court of Justice of the European Union, the European Court of Auditors, the Secretariat of the European Parliament, the European Public Prosecutor's Office, the European Investment Bank, the European Investment Fund, the European Stability Mechanism, as well as amongst other European Commission departments and services, Eurostat.

FactSnippet No. 821,379

Under the 1815 Treaty of Paris, which ended the Napoleonic Wars, Luxembourg City was placed under Prussian military control as a part of the German Confederation, although sovereignty passed to the House of Orange-Nassau, in personal union with the United Kingdom of the Netherlands.

FactSnippet No. 821,380

The communes of Eich, Hamm, Hollerich, and Rollingergrund were incorporated into Luxembourg City, making the city the largest commune in the country .

FactSnippet No. 821,381

In 1967, the High Authority was merged with the commissions of the other European institutions; although Luxembourg City was no longer the seat of the ECSC, it hosted some part-sessions of the European Parliament until 1981.

FactSnippet No. 821,382

Luxembourg City remains the seat of the European Parliament's secretariat, as well as the Court of Justice of the European Union, the European Court of Auditors, and the European Investment Bank.

FactSnippet No. 821,383

Luxembourg City is subdivided into twenty-four quarters, which cover the commune in its entirety.

FactSnippet No. 821,384

Unlike other cities in Luxembourg City, which are limited to four echevins at most, Luxembourg City is given special dispensation to have six echevins on its college echevinal.

FactSnippet No. 821,385

Luxembourg City is the seat of several institutions, agencies and bodies of the European Union, including the Court of Justice of the European Union, the European Commission, the secretariat of the European Parliament, the European Court of Auditors and the European Investment Bank.

FactSnippet No. 821,386

The city of Luxembourg itself is on the UNESCO World Heritage List, on account of the historical importance of its fortifications.

FactSnippet No. 821,387

Luxembourg City is famed for its wide selection of restaurants and cuisines, including four Michelin starred establishments.

FactSnippet No. 821,388

Luxembourg City Open is a tennis tournament held since 1991 in the capital.

FactSnippet No. 821,389

Luxembourg City is situated in the heart of Europe in the Gold Triangle between Frankfurt, Paris, and Amsterdam.

FactSnippet No. 821,390

Public transport in Luxembourg City has been free since 2020, including rail, bus and tram.

FactSnippet No. 821,391

Luxembourg City is served by five rail stations operated by the state rail company, the Societe Nationale des Chemins de Fer Luxembourgeois, including the principal station and terminus of all rail lines in the Grand Duchy, Luxembourg station.

FactSnippet No. 821,392

Stations in Luxembourg City are served by domestic rail services operated by CFL, as well as international rail services, operated by CFL, and German, Belgian, and French service providers.

FactSnippet No. 821,393

Additionally, Luxembourg City station is connected to the French LGV Est network, providing high-speed services on to Paris and Strasbourg.

FactSnippet No. 821,394

Luxembourg City has a network of 31 bus routes, operated by the municipal transport authority, Autobus de la Ville de Luxembourg, partly subcontracted to private bus companies.

FactSnippet No. 821,395

Luxembourg City is served by the only international airport in the country: Luxembourg Airport .

FactSnippet No. 821,396

Luxembourg City is a member of the QuattroPole union of cities, along with Trier, Saarbrucken, and Metz .

FactSnippet No. 821,397