31 Facts About The Open Championship


Since the PGA Championship moved to May in 2019, the Open has been chronologically the fourth and final major tournament of the year.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,186

The Open Championship returned after the war to St Andrews, with a victory for American Sam Snead.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,187

The Open Championship's achievement was so well regarded he returned to New York City to a ticker-tape parade.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,188

The Open was played outside of England and Scotland for the first time in 1951 at Royal Portrush, Northern Ireland.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,189

Period saw fewer American entrants, as the PGA Tour had grown to be quite lucrative, and the PGA The Open Championship was often played at the same or similar time paying triple the prize money.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,190

The Open Championship would go on to win again in 1980,1982 and 1983, to win 5 times overall, a record only bettered by Harry Vardon, and he became regarded as one of the greatest links golf players of all time.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,191

The Open Championship would go on to win three Opens, and was the first continental European to win since Arnaud Massy in 1907.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,192

The Open Championship ended up triple bogeying after finding the Barry Burn, and Scotman Paul Lawrie, ranked 241st in the world, ended up winning in a playoff.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,193

The Open Championship was 10 strokes behind the leader going into the final round, a record for all majors.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,194

The Open Championship was not the only unheralded champion during this span, as 396th-ranked Ben Curtis and 56th-ranked Todd Hamilton won in 2003 and 2004, respectively.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,195

In 2000, Tiger Woods, having just won the US The Open Championship, became champion by a post-war record 8 strokes to become the youngest player to win the career Grand Slam at age 24.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,196

The Open Championship's bid came to a halt on Saturday with the worst round of his career up to that time, an 81 in cold, gusty rain.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,197

The Open Championship went on to win again back-to-back in 2005 and 2006 to bring his total to three wins.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,198

The Open Championship finished tied for fourth as Zach Johnson became champion.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,199

In 2020, the Open Championship was cancelled because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,200

Old Course at St Andrews is regarded as the oldest golf course in the world, and winning the Open there is often regarded as one of the pinnacles of golf.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,201

The Open Championship trophy is the Claret Jug, which has been presented to the champion since 1873.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,202

Therefore, the trophy that is presented at each The Open Championship is a replica which is retained by the winner for a year.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,203

The winner of the Open is announced as "The Champion Golfer of the Year", a title which has been used since the first Open in 1860.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,204

The Women's Open, seen by some as the women's equivalent to the Open was officially known as the "Women's British Open" from its inception in 1976 until 2020, when the word "British" was dropped from the name as part of a sponsorship deal with AIG.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,205

The Open Championship began in 1860, and for many years it was not the most-followed event in golf, as challenge matches between top golfers were more keenly followed and drew larger crowds.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,206

The PGA The Open Championship is usually seen as the least prestigious of the four.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,207

In 1995, prize money won in the Open was included in the PGA Tour official money list for the first time, a change that caused an increase in the number of American entries.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,208

The Open is an official event on the Japan Golf Tour.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,209

The Open Championship is likely to receive a winner's bonus from his sponsors.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,210

Open Championship has always been held on a coastal links golf course in Scotland, England or Northern Ireland.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,211

Prestwick Golf Club : Prestwick is The Open's original venue, and hosted 24 Opens in all, including the first 12.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,212

The course underwent significant changes before the 2019 The Open Championship, including replacing the 17th and 18th holes, which provided the space for spectators and corporate hospitality that a modern major requires.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,213

The Open became the first golf major to be covered exclusively on pay television in America, as ESPN left only highlights for its partner broadcast network.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,214

The Open Championship provides limited coverage for free on its website including highlights, featured groups, featured holes, and radio coverage.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,215

The Open Championship produces a 'world feed' for use by international broadcasters if they require.

FactSnippet No. 1,881,216