14 Facts About Werder Bremen


Werder Bremen have been German champions four times, have won the DFB-Pokal six times, the DFL-Ligapokal once, the DFL-Supercup thrice, and the European Cup Winners' Cup once.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,036

In Europe, Werder Bremen won the 1992 European Cup Winners' Cup in a final against AS Monaco.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,037

On 4 February 1899, FV Werder Bremen was founded by a group of 16-year-old students who had won a football, after they were victorious in a tug of war tournament.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,038

Manager Otto Rehhagel was appointed in April 1981, and under his guidance, Werder Bremen recovered themselves, as Rehhagel subsequently led the side to a string of successes.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,039

In 1986, Werder hosted Bayern Munich in the penultimate match of the season; Bremen needed a win to secure their second Bundesliga title.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,040

Werder Bremen reached the DFB-Pokal final in 1989 and 1990, and were victorious in 1991.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,041

Werder Bremen kept the team in the Bundesliga, and won the DFB-Pokal only weeks later, defeating Bayern on penalties.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,042

In October 2010, Werder Bremen's Pizarro became the then-record holder of highest foreign goal-scorer in Bundesliga history.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,043

Werder Bremen have had 24 different managers since the beginning of the Bundesliga era in 1963.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,044

Werder Bremen have used several different crests during their history.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,045

Werder Bremen have played their home games at the same location since 1909.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,046

In 1992, Werder Bremen became the first German club to install skyboxes in their stadium.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,047

Werder Bremen have a long-standing rivalry with fellow northern German club Hamburger SV, known as the Nordderby.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,048

Werder Bremen fans maintain friendly relationships with Rot-Weiss Essen, Austrian club SK Sturm Graz, and Israeli clubs Maccabi Haifa, and Hapoel Katamon Jerusalem.

FactSnippet No. 2,193,049