10 Facts About Akto County


Akto County is a county in Kizilsu Kyrgyz Autonomous Prefecture, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, China.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,588

Akto County means 'white mountain' in the Kyrgyz language, referring to snowy mountains.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,589

In 1134, Akto County was part of West Liao with the East Kara-Khanid Khanate reconciled to West Liao.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,590

Akto County was established in August 1954 from parts of Yengisar, Shufu, Taxkorgan and Wuqia counties.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,591

Akto County is located in the central hinterland of Asia, the westernmost part of China, the southwest of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, the eastern Pamir Plateau, and the western edge of the Tarim Basin.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,592

Akto County is located in the three major geographic regions of the Pamirs, the northern slopes of the Kunlun Mountains and the oasis on the western edge of the Tarim Basin.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,593

Southern part of Akto County is the northern slope of Kunlun Mountains, which is the main mountain of the Kunlun.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,594

Akto County has 12 township-level administrative divisions under its jurisdiction, with five state-owned farms.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,595

Akto County has a large Uyghur majority, numbering 172,408 in 2018, or 73.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,596

The largest minority in Akto County are the Kyrgyz, who number 47,394 in 2018, comprising 20.

FactSnippet No. 2,301,597