11 Facts About American Southwest


Southwestern United States, known as the American Southwest or simply the Southwest, is a geographic and cultural region of the United States that generally includes Arizona, New Mexico, and adjacent portions of California, Colorado, Nevada, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,276

Human history in the American Southwest begins with the arrival of the Clovis culture, a Paleo-Indian hunter-gatherer culture which arrived sometime around 9000 BC.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,277

In 1846, the Southwest became embroiled in the Mexican–American War, partly as a result of the United States' annexation of Texas.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,278

American Southwest calls the first subregion "Northern New Mexico", and describes it as focused on Albuquerque and Santa Fe.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,279

Reed's definition is roughly equivalent to the western half of the Learning Center of the American Southwest's definition, leaving out any portion of Kansas and Oklahoma, and much of Texas, as well as the eastern half of New Mexico.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,280

White-nosed coati, coati, and collared peccary—or javelina—in the American Southwest are normally found in southern areas of Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas near the Mexican border.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,281

Much of the American Southwest is an arid desert climate, but higher elevations in the mountains in each state, with the exception of West Texas, feature alpine climates with very large amounts of snow.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,282

The terrain of western Texas in the American Southwest is the flat, rolling land of the plains, which eventually turns into a desert with some hills.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,283

Indoor American Southwest football is represented by the Arizona Rattlers located in Phoenix.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,284

American Southwest is home to some of the most prominent rodeos in North America.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,285

American Southwest is the site of six college football bowl games: the TicketCity Cactus Bowl, formerly known as the Insight Bowl, in Tempe; the Arizona Bowl in Tucson; the Fiesta Bowl, played at the University of Phoenix Stadium; the Las Vegas Bowl; the New Mexico Bowl in Albuquerque; and the Sun Bowl in El Paso, Texas.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,286