21 Facts About Durham Bulls


Durham Bulls are a Minor League Baseball team of the International League and the Triple-A affiliate of the Tampa Bay Rays.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,895

The Durham Bulls were members of the Piedmont League from 1920 to 1933 and for a second time from 1936 to 1943.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,896

The Durham Bulls returned as members of the Carolina League in 1980.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,897

The Durham Bulls have won the International League championship eight times, all as an affiliate of the Tampa Bay Rays.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,898

Durham Bulls has gone on to win three Triple-A National Championship Games .

FactSnippet No. 1,429,899

The next year, the city of Durham Bulls purchased El Toro Park, renaming it the Durham Bulls Athletic Park after the 1933 season.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,900

The Durham Bulls were unable to operate for the 1934 and 1935 seasons due to the Great Depression.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,901

The Durham Bulls franchise was re-activated by having the operations of the Wilmington ball club integrated into the Durham Bulls.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,902

Three years later, in September 1948, Tom Wright, a former Durham Bulls outfielder, became the first Carolina League player to make it to the majors when he debuted with the Boston Red Sox.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,903

The franchise was renamed because the Durham Bulls acquired the nearby Raleigh Pirates and merged with them.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,904

Durham Bulls were sold to the Raleigh-based Capitol Broadcasting Company in 1991.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,905

The 1997 season was the final one in which the Durham Bulls were an affiliate of the Atlanta Braves and their last year in the High-A Carolina League.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,906

Wolff's dream of attracting Triple-A baseball came true when the Durham Bulls became the Triple-A affiliate of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays, who have remained their parent club ever since.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,907

Durham Bulls made his debut against Royce Clayton of the Texas Rangers, striking him out on four pitches.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,908

In 2003, Durham Bulls became the first club in the 119-year history of the championship to sweep back-to-back final playoff series, defeating the Pawtucket Red Sox.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,909

Durham Bulls defeated the Toledo Mud Hens in a three-game sweep during the first round of the playoffs, but were defeated three games to two in the Governors' Cup Final by the Richmond Braves .

FactSnippet No. 1,429,910

Also in 2009, the Bulls retired the number 8 of Crash Davis, the main character of Bull Durham, which was their first number retirement in 16 years.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,911

Almost two weeks later, the Durham Bulls set the Triple-A wins record winning their 84th game of the 2010 season.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,912

In 2016, the Durham Bulls had the franchise's second-highest attendance numbers and retired Montoyo's number 25.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,913

In 2022, the Triple-A East became known as the International League, the name historically used by the regional circuit prior to the 2021 reorganization, which the Durham Bulls had been members of since their move up to Triple-A.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,914

Durham Bulls have honored five individuals by retiring their uniform numbers.

FactSnippet No. 1,429,915