11 Facts About Peterborough Petes


Peterborough Petes are a junior ice hockey team in the Ontario Hockey League.

FactSnippet No. 713,622

Peterborough Petes have produced a record number of National Hockey League players, including Hall of Famers Steve Yzerman, Bob Gainey, Larry Murphy, Scotty Bowman, Wayne Gretzky and Roger Neilson.

FactSnippet No. 713,623

The Peterborough Petes have graduated the most players to the NHL of all current OHL teams with a total of 248.

FactSnippet No. 713,624

Peterborough Petes have won the OHL Championship nine times, second-most in OHL history and the most in the postwar period.

FactSnippet No. 713,625

Peterborough Petes defeated the Barrie Flyers, Guelph Biltmore Mad Hatters and Toronto St Michael's Majors in the playoffs to win their first OHA championship.

FactSnippet No. 713,626

Bowman and the TPT Peterborough Petes went on to reach the Memorial Cup for the first time that year but fell to the Winnipeg Braves.

FactSnippet No. 713,627

The Peterborough Petes won the Hamilton Spectator Trophy two consecutive times in 1979 and 1980.

FactSnippet No. 713,628

Peterborough Petes's success continued into the Memorial Cup, reaching the championship game all three years, and winning the national junior title in 1979.

FactSnippet No. 713,629

The Petes won the J Ross Robertson Cup defeating the Guelph Storm in the finals, then and played at home while hosting the Memorial Cup tournament in 1996.

FactSnippet No. 713,630

Peterborough Petes travelled to Moncton, New Brunswick to play in the 2006 Memorial Cup, losing the third place tiebreaker game to the Vancouver Giants.

FactSnippet No. 713,631

Peterborough Petes have 152 alumni who have played in the National Hockey League.

FactSnippet No. 713,632