25 Facts About Sioux


The modern Sioux consist of two major divisions based on language divisions: the Dakota and Lakota; collectively they are known as the Ochethi Sakowi?.

FactSnippet No. 479,170

Today, the Sioux maintain many separate tribal governments scattered across several reservations, communities, and reserves in North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Minnesota, and Montana in the United States; and Manitoba, and southern Saskatchewan in Canada.

FactSnippet No. 479,171

Sioux people refer to the Great Sioux Nation as the Ochethi Sakowi?.

FactSnippet No. 479,172

The name is sometimes said to be derived from "Nadowessi", an Ojibwe exonym for the Sioux meaning "little snakes" (compare nadowe "big snakes", used for the Iroquois).

FactSnippet No. 479,173

In recent times, some of the tribes have formally or informally reclaimed traditional names: the Rosebud Sioux Tribe is known as the Sicha?gu Oyate, and the Oglala often use the name Oglala Lakhota Oyate, rather than the English Oglala Sioux Tribe or OST.

FactSnippet No. 479,174

The preeminent symbol of Sioux religion is the Cha?gleska Wakha?, which visually represents the concept that everything in the universe is intertwined.

FactSnippet No. 479,175

The ancestors of the Sioux arrived in the northwoods of central Minnesota and northwestern Wisconsin from the Central Mississippi River shortly before 800 AD.

FactSnippet No. 479,176

For example, in 1736 a group of Sioux killed Jean Baptiste de La Verendrye and twenty other men on an island in Lake of the Woods for such reasons.

FactSnippet No. 479,177

The Sioux were the former enemies of the Meskwaki and were enlisted to make a joint attack against the Ojibwe.

FactSnippet No. 479,178

The Upper Sioux were not satisfied with their reservation because of low food supplies, but as it included several of their old villages, they agreed to stay.

FactSnippet No. 479,179

The Lower Sioux were displaced from their traditional woodlands and were dissatisfied with their new territory of mostly prairie.

FactSnippet No. 479,180

US intended the treaties to encourage the Sioux to convert from their nomadic hunting lifestyle into more European-American settled farming, offering them compensation in the transition.

FactSnippet No. 479,181

Sioux'storian Mary Wingerd has stated that it is "a complete myth that all the Dakota people went to war against the United States" and that it was rather "a faction that went on the offensive".

FactSnippet No. 479,182

Sioux stayed briefly in Canada but soon returned to the western Minnesota.

FactSnippet No. 479,183

Sioux was killed on July 3, 1863, near Hutchinson, Minnesota while gathering raspberries with his teenage son.

FactSnippet No. 479,184

The Sioux have refused the payment, demanding instead the return of their land.

FactSnippet No. 479,185

Great Sioux War of 1876, known as the Black Hills War, was a series of battles and negotiations that occurred in 1876 and 1877 between the Lakota, Northern Cheyenne, and the United States.

FactSnippet No. 479,186

The Great Sioux War took place under the presidencies of Ulysses S Grant and Rutherford B Hayes.

FactSnippet No. 479,187

The Yankton Sioux Tribe is the only tribe in South Dakota that did not comply with the IRA and chose to keep its traditional government, whose constitution was ratified in 1891.

FactSnippet No. 479,188

Sioux never accepted the legitimacy of the forced deprivation of their Black Hills reservation.

FactSnippet No. 479,189

Sioux has three similar dialects: Lakota, Western Dakota and Eastern Dakota (Santee-Sisseton).

FactSnippet No. 479,190

Term Dakota has been applied by anthropologists and governmental departments to refer to all Sioux groups, resulting in names such as Teton Dakota, Santee Dakota, etc.

FactSnippet No. 479,191

Sioux are divided into three ethnic groups, the larger of which are divided into sub-groups, and further branched into bands.

FactSnippet No. 479,192

Sioux maintain many separate tribal governments scattered across several reservations and communities in North America: in the Dakotas, Minnesota, Nebraska, and Montana in the United States; and in Manitoba, southern Saskatchewan and Alberta in Canada.

FactSnippet No. 479,193

Contemporary Sioux people are listed under the tribes to which they belong.

FactSnippet No. 479,194