13 Facts About University Challenge


University Challenge is a British television quiz programme which first aired in 1962.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,525

University Challenge aired for 913 episodes on ITV from 21 September 1962 to 31 December 1987, presented by quizmaster Bamber Gascoigne.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,526

University Challenge was revived by the BBC in 1994, although still produced by Granada Television, using the original format, with minor differences, and presented by Jeremy Paxman.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,527

The Open University Challenge won the 1999 series with a team with an average age of 46.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,528

Durham University Challenge has appeared most frequently in the post-1994 format.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,529

The 2010 Manchester University Challenge team included a visually impaired student, Rachael Neiman, and the picture rounds in episodes involving the team were word puzzles for which she was provided with Braille transcriptions.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,530

Producers of the programme have taken the more recent inclusion of mature students to its logical conclusion by making two series without any student participants: University Challenge Reunited brought former teams back together, while University Challenge: The Professionals matched occupational groups such as civil servants, architects and doctors against each other.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,531

Sixth Form University Challenge, hosted by Chris Kelly, appeared briefly between 1965 and 1967.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,532

An untelevised version, Schools' University Challenge, continues to run at junior and senior secondary school levels.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,533

University Challenge ran in New Zealand for 14 seasons, from 1976 until 1989, with international series held between the previous years' British and New Zealand champions in both 1986 and 1987.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,534

University Challenge, hosted by Magnus Clarke, ran in Australia on the ABC from 1987 until 1989.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,535

University Challenge India started in summer 2003, with the season culminating in the finals of March 2004 where Sardar Patel College of Engineering, Mumbai, beat Indian School of Business, Hyderabad.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,536

University Challenge inspired the format of two Dutch-language shows: Universiteitsstrijd, which ran for one season in 2016 on NTR, and De Campus Cup, which ran since 2019 on Canvas.

FactSnippet No. 1,515,537