19 Facts About Arizona Wildcats


Arizona Wildcats are the athletic teams that represent the University of Arizona, located in Tucson.

FactSnippet No. 580,887

The Arizona Wildcats compete at the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I (Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) for college football) level as a member of the Pac-12 Conference.

FactSnippet No. 580,888

Arizona Wildcats joined the Pac-8 in 1978 along with Arizona Wildcats State University, bringing the conference to 10 teams and the new name of the Pac-10.

FactSnippet No. 580,889

The trophy awarded after each football game is the Territorial Cup as the teams first played in 1899, while the Territory of Arizona Wildcats was an organized incorporated territory of the United States.

FactSnippet No. 580,890

Outside of the Pac-12, Arizona Wildcats has two dormant rivalries with two other former Border Intercollegiate Athletic Association members, the New Mexico Lobos and Texas Tech Red Raiders.

FactSnippet No. 580,891

Arizona Wildcats reached the NCAA tournament in 25 consecutive years from 1985 to 2009.

FactSnippet No. 580,892

The Arizona Wildcats reached the Final Four of the NCAA tournament in 1988, 1994, 1997, and 2001.

FactSnippet No. 580,893

In 1997, Arizona Wildcats defeated the University of Kentucky, the defending national champions, to win the NCAA National Championship.

FactSnippet No. 580,894

Arizona Wildcats ended that season ranked 3rd nationally and 2nd in several publications.

FactSnippet No. 580,895

From 1999 to 2007, Arizona Wildcats had a mix of unsuccessful seasons without any bowl appearances.

FactSnippet No. 580,896

The Arizona Wildcats then played in the first College Football Playoff appearance, netting a berth in the 2014 Fiesta Bowl, the school's third major-bowl appearance, where they faced the Boise State Broncos.

FactSnippet No. 580,897

Arizona Wildcats has three sports in its "Cactus Tier", an elevated level of intercollegiate club competition: ice hockey, lacrosse, and rugby.

FactSnippet No. 580,898

Arizona Wildcats have claimed only one Conference Title, occurring in 1990.

FactSnippet No. 580,899

In 1997, the Arizona Wildcats were ranked Number 1 heading into the National Tournament but were upset early by Brigham Young University in the second round of the Tournament.

FactSnippet No. 580,900

The Arizona Wildcats were led by head coach Dave Sitton from 1979 to 2013, who served as a board member of USA Rugby, and worked as a rugby broadcaster for ESPN and Fox.

FactSnippet No. 580,901

Arizona Wildcats have become one of the most successful college rugby programs in the country.

FactSnippet No. 580,902

The Arizona Wildcats reached the quarterfinals of the 2010 national collegiate rugby championships.

FactSnippet No. 580,903

The Arizona Wildcats reached the playoffs in 2013, but lost in an upset to Long Beach.

FactSnippet No. 580,904

The Arizona Wildcats reached the D1-AA national playoffs in 2014, where they defeated Long Beach State, Stanford, and Bowling Green, but ultimately lost to Central Florida in the final.

FactSnippet No. 580,905