29 Facts About Badakhshan


Badakhshan is a historical region comprising parts of modern-day north-eastern Afghanistan, eastern Tajikistan, and Taxkorgan Tajik Autonomous County in China.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,381

Badakhshan Province is one of the 34 provinces of Afghanistan.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,382

The music of Badakhshan is an important part of the region's cultural heritage.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,383

Badakhshan was an important region when the Silk Road passed through.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,384

Badakhshan was at that time a land called Ariana vaeqah, and “Varena” in the Avesta refers to a part of Badakhshan in the Khatlon conflict.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,385

Badakhshan gained its status among the world civilizations with these two types of precious stones, both in the time of the Elamites, in the time of the Maud, and in the time of the Achaemenids.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,386

Sultan Muhammad of Badakhshan was the last of a series of kings who traced their descent to Alexander the Great.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,387

Badakhshan was killed by Abu Sa'id Mirza, the ruler of Timurid Empire, who took possession of Badakhshan, which after his death fell to his son, Sultan Mahmud Mirza, who had three sons, Baysinghar Mirza, Ali Mirza, and Khan Mirza.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,388

Badakhshan returned to Kabul in 1566, when Akbar's troops had left that country, but retreated on being promised tribute.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,389

Badakhshan's was clever, and had her husband so much in her power that he did nothing without her advice.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,390

Khan Jahan, governor of the Punjab, received orders from Emperor Akbar to invade Badakhshan, but was suddenly ordered to go to Bengal instead, as Mun'im Khan had died and Mirza Sulaiman did not care for the governorship of Bengal, which Akbar had offered him.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,391

Badakhshan invaded and took the country in 1584; Shahrukh fled to the Mughal Empire, and Mirza Sulaiman to Kabul.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,392

Badakhshan lived out his life at Akbar's court in Lahore where he died in 1589 CE.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,393

Badakhshan punished marauders of Saki tribe who had desolated Chiab, Takhta Band, Khalpan in Badakhshan.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,394

In 1759 another enemy appeared led by Kabad Khan the Kataghans attacked Fayzabad, Badakhshan took and put to death Sultan Shah and Turrah Baz Khan.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,395

Badakhshan regained throne on assassination of Bahadur by his servant.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,396

Badakhshan recovered arrears of taxes from Chinese settlers and levied payment in advance.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,397

Badakhshan died in 1815 leaving 5 sons of whom Mir Yar Beg succeeded as ruler.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,398

In fact Badakhshan was now contested by again by Mir Yar Beg, Sikandar Shah, Shahzada Mahmud, Abdul Ghazi Khan and Shah Suliman Beg who were in exile at Tashqurghan under the protection of Mir Wali.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,399

Badakhshan visited successively Khulam and Kunduz and was well received.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,400

Badakhshan then wrote to Mir Atalik Beg, Chief of Kunduz, requesting his aid against Yusuf Ali Khan and Mir Shah to drive them out of Rustak.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,401

Ruler of Badakhshan to furnish suitable contingent in difficulty and to aid Amir of Kabul and to give annual presents.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,402

Mir Jahandar Shah of Badakhshan never asked forgiveness for hostilities to Amir Sher Ali Khan with Azam Khan and failed to wait on Governor of Balkh at Takhtapul.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,403

Badakhshan's boundaries were decided by the Anglo-Russian agreement of 1873, which expressly acknowledged "Badakhshan with its dependent district Wakhan" as "fully belonging to the Amir of Kabul", and limited it to the left or southern bank of the Amu Darya .

FactSnippet No. 1,046,404

Consequently, most western part of modern Gorno-Badakhshan became part of Emirate of Bukhara, while most of it became part of Fergana Province of Russian Turkistan.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,405

In 1890 Qataghan-Badakhshan District was separated from Afghan Turkestan and Qataghan-Badakhshan Province was created.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,406

In 1963, Badakhshan included the districts of Baghlan, Pul-i-Khumri, Dushi, Dahan-i-Ghori, Kanabad, Andarab, Kunduz, Hazrat-i-Imam, and Taloqan.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,407

In 1963 Qataghan-Badakhshan Province was abolished and since then the territory was divided into four separate provinces: Badakhshan, Baghlan, Kunduz and Takhar.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,408

Tajik Badakhshan witnessed fierce fighting during the Tajikistani Civil War in the 1990s.

FactSnippet No. 1,046,409