22 Facts About Big Ten


Big Ten Conference is the oldest Division I collegiate athletic conference in the United States.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,926

Big Ten universities are members of the Big Ten Academic Alliance, formerly the Committee on Institutional Cooperation.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,927

The first known references to the conference as the Big Ten were in December 1916, when Michigan rejoined the conference after a nine-year absence.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,928

In 1990, the Big Ten universities voted to expand the conference to 11 teams and extended an invitation to Atlantic 10 member and football independent Pennsylvania State University, which accepted it.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,929

In 1999, Notre Dame and the Big Ten entered into private negotiations concerning a possible membership that would include Notre Dame.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,930

On June 11,2010, the University of Nebraska applied for membership in the Big Ten and was unanimously approved as the conference's 12th school, which became effective July 1,2011.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,931

New football division names, the Big Ten was unable to use geographic names, because they had rejected a geographic arrangement.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,932

On June 3,2013, the Big Ten announced the sponsorship of men's and women's lacrosse.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,933

In women's lacrosse, the addition of Maryland and Rutgers to the Big Ten brought the conference up to the requisite six participants, joining programs at Michigan, Northwestern, Ohio State and Penn State.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,934

Coincident with the addition of Maryland and Rutgers, Michigan agreed to upgrade its successful club team to varsity status, giving the Big Ten five sponsoring schools, one short of the minimum six for an automatic bid.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,935

All Big Ten members are members of the Big Ten Academic Alliance, formerly known as the Committee on Institutional Cooperation.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,936

The University of Chicago, a former Big Ten Conference member, was a member of the CIC from 1958 to June 29,2016.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,937

However, in 2017, the Big Ten started to allow teams to schedule an FCS opponent during years in which they only have four conference home games.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,938

ESPN, citing a Big Ten executive, reported in 2015 that the Big Ten would allow exceptions to the Power Five rule on a case-by-case basis, and that the other FBS independent at that time, Army, had been added to the list of non-Power Five schools that would automatically be counted as Power Five opponents.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,939

From 1946 through 1971, the Big Ten did not allow the same team to represent the conference in consecutive years in the Rose Bowl with an exception made after the 1961 season in which Minnesota played in the 1962 Rose Bowl after playing in the 1961 Rose Bowl due to Ohio State declining the bid because of Ohio State faculty concerns about academics.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,940

The Big Ten will approve or assign another team based on internal selection parameters.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,941

The Big Ten has more Sudler Trophy recipients than any other collegiate athletic conference.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,942

Big Ten has participated in basketball since 1904, and has led the nation in attendance every season since 1978.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,943

Big Ten teams have experienced success in the postseason NIT.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,944

Since 1974,13 Big Ten teams have played in the championship game, winning nine championships.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,945

Since 1999, the Big Ten has taken part in the ACC–Big Ten Challenge with the Atlantic Coast Conference.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,946

The Big Ten Conference has the most on-campus basketball arenas with seating capacities of 15,000 or more of any NCAA conference, with seven.

FactSnippet No. 2,218,947