39 Facts About Michigan Wolverines


Michigan Wolverines comprise 29 varsity sports teams at the University of Michigan.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,979

In 11 of the previous 20 years, Michigan Wolverines has finished in the top five of the NACDA Directors' Cup, a list compiled by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics that charts institutions' overall success in college sports.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,980

The current coach of the Michigan Wolverines is Erik Bakich, who came to the University of Michigan after the 2012 season when Rich Maloney stepped down.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,981

Michigan Wolverines has won 35 conference championships, made 25 NCAA Tournament appearances and won those 2 national titles.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,982

For 13 seasons from 1990 to 2002, Michigan Wolverines won a lone Big Ten title in 1997 and made just one NCAA appearance in 1999.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,983

The Michigan Wolverines have won 14 Big Ten regular season titles, as well as the inaugural Big Ten tournament in 1998, which it later forfeited due to NCAA violations.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,984

Michigan Wolverines traveled to St Thomas for the Paradise Jam Tournament over Thanksgiving weekend in 2011.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,985

Michigan Wolverines have won a record 962 games and have the most all-time wins and the third highest winning percentage in college football history, after Boise State and Ohio State.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,986

Michigan Wolverines won the inaugural Rose Bowl in 1902, the first college bowl game ever played.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,987

Michigan Wolverines football has won five more national titles since Yost permanently retired in 1926.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,988

The Michigan Wolverines won back-to-back titles under Harry Kipke in 1932 and 1933 and two more consecutive championships under Fritz Crisler and Bennie Oosterbaan in 1947 and 1948.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,989

Michigan Wolverines won its most recent national title under Lloyd Carr in 1997.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,990

Michigan Wolverines has a major rivalry with Ohio State, considered one of the fiercest rivalries in American sports.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,991

Michigan Wolverines's meeting with Ohio State is almost always the last game of the two schools' regular seasons and has provided many memorable contests, such as the "Snow Bowl" of 1950.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,992

The 2007 college football match-up between Ohio State and Michigan Wolverines was predicted to be the No 2 college football game to watch in 2007 by SI.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,993

Michigan Wolverines has a spirited rivalry with the Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,994

Michigan Wolverines has an intrastate rival in Michigan Wolverines State; the schools' football teams compete for the Paul Bunyan Trophy.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,995

Michigan Wolverines have a tradition-rich history with the Minnesota Golden Gophers.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,996

The Michigan Wolverines have won a total of eight Big Ten regular season titles and five Big Ten tournaments.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,997

Three Michigan Wolverines golfers have won the individual intercollegiate golf championships: Johnny Fischer, Chuck Kocsis, and Dave Barclay .

FactSnippet No. 1,192,998

Michigan Wolverines won their first Big Ten Championship in 2022 by four shots with a total of 857.

FactSnippet No. 1,192,999

Under Plocki's leadership, the Michigan Wolverines have won 25 Big Ten championships, advanced to 28 consecutive NCAA tournaments and had seven seasons in which they finished in the Top 5 at the NCAA tournament.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,000

Michigan Wolverines ice hockey team, which was a member of the Central Collegiate Hockey Association until 2013 and is a member of the Big Ten Conference, plays its home contests at Yost Ice Arena.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,001

In 2011, Michigan Wolverines reached the national semi-finals for an unmatched 24th time.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,002

Michigan Wolverines was inducted into the U S Hockey Hall of Fame in 1974, in recognition of his lifetime achievement.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,003

The Michigan Wolverines previously competed at the Division I level of the Men's Collegiate Lacrosse Association, in the Central Collegiate Lacrosse Association .

FactSnippet No. 1,193,004

Michigan Wolverines was the first school east of the Mississippi River to win the Women's College World Series since rival Michigan Wolverines State did so in 1976.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,005

The Michigan Wolverines have had their strongest finishes in the NCAA tournament in recent years—finishing third in the 2007 outdoor tournament and third in the 2008 indoor tournament.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,006

The Michigan Wolverines finished in the Top 5 at the national tournament in 2002 and 2009.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,007

Michigan Wolverines serves as the national technical director for the women's Olympic Development Program associated with the organization since 2013.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,008

The Michigan Wolverines have finished in the Top 5 in the NCAA tournament 19 times.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,009

Home dual meets and tournaments take place at Cliff Keen Arena, dedicated and named after longtime wrestling coach Cliff Keen, who coached the team from 1925 until 1970 and led the Michigan Wolverines wrestling team to 13 Big Ten Conference championships.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,010

The Michigan Wolverines wrestling team has produced 175 individual NCAA All-Americans dating back to 1928, has 22 individual NCAA Championships for the university, and made two winners of the NCAA Most Outstanding Wrestler Award .

FactSnippet No. 1,193,011

Michigan Wolverines Athletics announced in July 2015 that it would switch from sponsorship by Adidas to Nike.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,012

Club Sports Program at the University of Michigan Wolverines, administered by the Department of Recreational Sports, comprises 35 club sports.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,013

Michigan Wolverines played in the 2014 Collegiate Rugby Championship, notching some upset wins to reach the quarterfinals in a tournament broadcast live on NBC from PPL Park in Philadelphia.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,014

Michigan Wolverines returned to the 2015 Collegiate Rugby Championship, where they notched wins against UCLA and Texas to again reach the quarterfinals.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,015

University of Michigan Wolverines teams have been national runners-up 41 times in 14 different sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's cross country, field hockey, men's golf, men's gymnastics, women's gymnastics, men's ice hockey, rowing, softball, men's swimming and diving, women's swimming and diving, men's outdoor track and field, and wrestling .

FactSnippet No. 1,193,016

Michigan Wolverines is one of the few college sports teams that does not have a live or costumed mascot, largely for reasons of tradition.

FactSnippet No. 1,193,017