22 Facts About Moravia


Moravia is a historical region in the east of the Czech Republic and one of three historical Czech lands, with Bohemia and Czech Silesia.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,435

Medieval and early modern Margraviate of Moravia was a crown land of the Lands of the Bohemian Crown from 1348 to 1918, an imperial state of the Holy Roman Empire from 1004 to 1806, a crown land of the Austrian Empire from 1804 to 1867, and a part of Austria-Hungary from 1867 to 1918.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,436

Moravia was one of the five lands of Czechoslovakia founded in 1918.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,437

Moravia had been home of a large German-speaking population until their expulsion in 1945.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,438

Moravia occupies most of the eastern part of the Czech Republic.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,439

Between 1782 and 1850, Moravia included a small portion of the former province of Silesia – the Austrian Silesia .

FactSnippet No. 1,058,440

Geologically, Moravia covers a transitive area between the Bohemian Massif and the Carpathians, and between the Danube basin and the North European Plain .

FactSnippet No. 1,058,441

The highest mountains of Moravia are situated on its northern border in Hruby Jesenik, the highest peak is Praded .

FactSnippet No. 1,058,442

Fluvial system of Moravia is very cohesive, as the region border is similar to the watershed of the Morava river, and thus almost the entire area is drained exclusively by a single stream.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,443

Small peripheral parts of Moravia belong to the catchment area of Elbe, Vah and especially Oder .

FactSnippet No. 1,058,444

Louis the German invaded Moravia and replaced Mojmir I with his nephew Rastiz who became St Rastislav.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,445

Great Moravia reached its greatest territorial extent in the 890s under Svatopluk I At this time, the empire encompassed the territory of the present-day Czech Republic and Slovakia, the western part of present Hungary, as well as Lusatia in present-day Germany and Silesia and the upper Vistula basin in southern Poland.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,446

In 1055, he decreed that Bohemia and Moravia would be inherited together by primogeniture, although he provided that his younger sons should govern parts of Moravia as vassals to his oldest son.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,447

Moravia reached its height of autonomy in 1182, when Emperor Frederick I elevated Conrad II Otto of Znojmo to the status of a margrave, immediately subject to the emperor, independent of Bohemia.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,448

Moravia again reunited all Czech lands into one-man ruled state.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,449

Moravia, like Bohemia, was a Habsburg possession until the end of World War I In 1573 the Jesuit University of Olomouc was established; this was the first university in Moravia.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,450

The Margraviate of Moravia had, from 1348 in Olomouc and Brno, its own Diet, or parliament, zemsky snem, whose deputies from 1905 onward were elected separately from the ethnically separate German and Czech constituencies.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,451

In 1782, the Margraviate of Moravia was merged with Austrian Silesia into Moravia-Silesia, with Brno as its capital.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,452

Moravia became a separate crown land of Austria again in 1849, and then became part of Cisleithanian Austria-Hungary after 1867.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,453

In 1928, Moravia was merged into Moravia-Silesia, one of four lands of Czechoslovakia, together with Bohemia, Slovakia and Subcarpathian Rus.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,454

Moravia historically had a large minority of ethnic Germans, some of whom had arrived as early as the 13th century at the behest of the Premyslid dynasty.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,455

Moravia can be divided on dialectal and lore basis into several ethnographic regions of comparable significance.

FactSnippet No. 1,058,456